Reference works are a great place to start your research as they provide quick, authoritative introductions to a topic. Common reference works include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, almanacs, and style manuals, and contain useful information such as descriptions, definitions, statistics, lists, quotes, properties, and standards.
Information from reference works is commonly used in the following two ways:
Context: If you want to know more about a topic that you are researching, or even a topic that is completely new to you, you can use a reference book. For example, if you use Wikipedia to look up general information about a topic or event, you are using Wikipedia as a reference tool. However, Wikipedia can be edited by anyone, so it is not necessarily the most authoritative or trustworthy source of information. The reference sources from the library have already been vetted for authority and quality so you know that the information contained within them is high-quality.
Supporting Arguments: Reference materials can be used to support facts or other arguments that you make in a paper or assignment. Again, this information may be available on the web, but you would have to do some additional work to ensure that the source is reliable, whereas the reference materials in the library have already been vetted.
Many of the library's reference materials are available online, so you can access them from anywhere and easily search for the information you need. We also have print materials in the Reference Section on the 5th Level of Douglas Library. If you have any questions about using reference materials, or would like a librarian to help you find the best sources, choose the "book a consultation" link on the left.
Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.
Encyclopedia of Geology by
Encyclopedia of Geology, Second Edition presents in six volumes state-of-the-art reviews on the various aspects of geologic research, all of which have moved on considerably since the writing of the first edition. New areas of discussion include extinctions, origins of life, plate tectonics and its influence on faunal provinces, new types of mineral and hydrocarbon deposits, new methods of dating rocks, and geological processes. Users will find this to be a fundamental resource for teachers and students of geology, as well as researchers and non-geology professionals seeking up-to-date reviews of geologic research. Provides a comprehensive and accessible one-stop shop for information on the subject of geology, explaining methodologies and technical jargon used in the field Highlights connections between geology and other physical and biological sciences, tackling research problems that span multiple fields Fills a critical gap of information in a field that has seen significant progress in past years Presents an ideal reference for a wide range of scientists in earth and environmental areas of study
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology andearth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification.The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and theVolcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments.A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by
This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by
First Published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Geology for Nongeologists by
Geology for Nongeologists introduces basic concepts in geology: how rocks, minerals, and fossils are classified, how wind, ice, and water have shaped the earth, how mountains are formed, and how volcanoes, geysers, earthquakes, glaciers, and groundwater work to modify the physical structure of Earth. Primarily designed as an information source, and intended to be a non-technical survey for those with little background in science, this book is presented in a reader-friendly style. Written in straightforward and accessible English, this book provides a broad look at a multidisciplinary field that incorporates aspects of biology, chemistry, physics, ecology, geography, meteorology, pedology, and many other areas of science. This book fills the gap between general introductory science texts and advanced environmental science books. Books on the subject are typically geared toward professionals in these fields. This makes undertaking a study of geology daunting to those without a specific background in science. However, this complexity also indicates geology's broad impact. Because geology so widely affects us, sometimes in profound ways, it is important to understand its basic concepts. This book presents information that everyone needs to know about geology and about how science and scientists work. The author uses illustrative problems in terms of commonly used geological parameters, and each chapter ends with a chapter review test. Readers discover a new appreciation for their surroundings and a broader outlook on their environment.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science by
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, Four Volume Set, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. There are lots of new articles, and many of the articles that appeared in the first edition have been updated to reflect advances in knowledge since 2006, when the original articles were written. The second edition will contain about 375 articles, written by leading experts around the world. This major reference work is richly illustrated with more than 3,000 illustrations, most of them in colour. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition builds upon its award-winning predecessor to provide the reader assured quality along with essential updated coverage Contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field. Facilitates teaching and learning The first edition was regarded by many as the most significant single overview of Quaternary science ever, yet Editor-in-Chief, Scott Elias, has managed to surpass that in this second edition by securing even more expert reviews whilst retaining his renowned editorial consistency that enables readers to navigates seamlessly from one unfamiliar topic to the next
Challinor's Dictionary of Geology by
At the present day the science of geology is being studied more thoroughly and by more people than ever before, its advance has never been more significant. Obviously it is of the first importance that its nomenclature and terminology - growing all the time - should be clearly understood and appreciated; yet it is just here that study and publication have not kept up with the general progress. A book of this kind is therefore needed, and the present one has claims to be a pioneer. Some fifteen hundred names and terms have been carefully selected for critical consideration, a special feature being the copious quotations and references which are scattered over the whole field of geological literature (chiefly British), ancient and modern. Many of the more significant works in the history of British geology are thus brought into prominence. The Dictionary is meant not so much for occasional reference or for the seeking of the meaning of every out-of-way word; its aim, rather, is to be useful `companion', ever ready for consultation and for the provoking of lines of thought and investigation.
Geological Structures and Maps: A Practical Guide, Fourth Edition is a highly illustrated guide that introduces the skills of interpreting a geological map and relating it to the morphology of the most important types of geological structures.
Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.
