LLCU 295. Special Topics: Sport and Global Relations

Scholarly journal articles are very important sources for research as they contain current research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

To locate articles on your topic, use an index or database such as the ones recommended on this guide.

Because topics in this course can be multi-faceted, your research may draw upon a wide variety of disciplines and resources. 

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results. A link to database search is available from the library homepage or consult the relevant library research guide to determine the recommended databases in your discipline.

• SportDiscus: The SPORTDiscus database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. 
• Sociology @ Proquest: A pre-selected group of citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in sociology.
• Canadian Business and Current Affairs. Includes newspapers, newswires, magazines, and newsletters and coverage of television and radio transcripts.

Multidisciplinary databases index a great number of publications and allow you to search across the disciplines. They are a good resource to use when you begin your research.

• Academic Search Complete: Finds articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
• Google Scholar: Use to locate articles from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
• iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal
• Web of Science: Includes both scientific and social aspects on various topics.