HIST 316: European Politics and Society since 1789

To find the databases the library has acquired, go to the Databases page and click on the Types drop down menu.  Select Primary Sources to retrieve databases.

Some Primary Sources databases:

British Periodicals
Provides searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Includes full text of important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with important works from the America

Empire Online
Find documents on colonial history, politics, and culture from 1492 to 2007, primarily about the British Empire, especially Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia.

English Historical Documents, c. 500-1914

First World War: Personal Experiences
First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment
First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives

Food and Drink in History

Frontier Life; Borderland, Settlement and Colonial Encounters
Period Covered: 1650-1920

Grand Tour
Contains manuscript, visual and printed works on the history of travel

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926

Medical Services and Warfare
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line from the American Civil War to WWII. 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

19th Century UK Periodicals

Periodicals Archive
Access to the international scholarly literature of the humanities and social science disciplines from 1802 to 2000.

Times Digital Archive
Archives the full text of The Times of London from 1785 to 2019.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (U.K)