To find the databases the library has acquired, go to the Databases page and click on the Types drop down menu. Select Primary Sources to retrieve databases.
Some Primary Sources databases:
ARTFL
French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political, and scientific works from the 13th through the 20th centuries. Includes Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848.
British Periodicals
Provides searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Provides a wide variety of original English-language source material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Includes full text of important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with important works from the America
Electronic Enlightenment
a collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Empire Online
Find documents on colonial history, politics, and culture from 1492 to 2007, primarily about the British Empire, especially Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia.
English Historical Documents, c. 500-1914
Grand Tour
Contains manuscript, visual and printed works on the history of travel
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Periodicals Archive
Access to the international scholarly literature of the humanities and social science disciplines from 1802 to 2000.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Times Digital Archive
Archives the full text of The Times of London from 1785 to 2019.
The Lictors Bring to Brutus the Bodies of His Sons by Jacques Louis David, 1789 (Wikimedia Commons)
