Research Guides: Chemical Economics: Prices, Costs, Production and Markets: Markets, Production & Trade

Markets, Production and Trade

American Chemistry Council
The ACC publishes general statistics on chemical economics and production. See the Guide to the Business of Chemistry and Elements of the Business of Chemistry below for more detailed statistics.
Canadian Chemical Industry
This resource, which is produced by Industry Canada, includes statistics on employment, production and trade. Divided into product categories based on North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes.
Canadian Industry Statistics
Industry analysis and economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada.
Chemical Data Reporting
EPA database of chemical substances produced or imported in amounts greater than 25,000 pounds.
Chemical Economics Handbook
Published by IHS, CEH covers about 300 chemical products. Reports cost up to $5,000 each but summaries are free and often contain detailed information.
Chemistry Industry Association of Canada
Trade association representing Canadian chemical manufacturers. Publishes general statistics on revenue, investments, production and exports.
Elements of the Business of Chemistry (2017)
A free (but shorter) version of the American Chemistry Council's 2017 Guide to the Business of Chemistry.
Elements of the Business of Chemistry (2018)
A free (but shorter) version of the American Chemistry Council's 2018 Guide to the Business of Chemistry.
European Chemical Industry Council (Cefic)
Reports and statistics on the European chemical industry. Includes statistics on world chemical production, sales and exports.
Facts & Figures of the Chemical Industry (Chemical & Engineering News)
C&EN's Facts & Figures of the Chemical Industry is published annually in late June or early July. Finance, employment, production and trade statistics are included.
Guide to the Business of Chemistry (2021)
Published by the American Chemistry Council, a trade association. Includes financial, R&D, employment and trade statistics for the U.S. chemical industry. Also provides an overview of global markets.
Guide to the Business of Chemistry, 2017 ed. (Print)
Published by the American Chemistry Council, a trade association. Includes financial, R&D, employment and trade statistics for the U.S. chemical industry. Also provides an overview of global markets. Previous editions available include 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, and 2017.
ICIS Top 100 Chemical Companies/Distributors
Published irregularly in ICIS Chemical Business. Includes data for companies with annual sales greater than $2.5bn.
Industrial Organic Chemicals, 3rd ed.
Contains historical production statistics and price information for many types of industrial organic chemicals.
Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Kirk-Othmer contains historical and recent production statistics for many industrial chemicals. Data is sourced from government reports, academic studies, market research reports and company information.
Plastics Statistics (ACC)
Selected information from the American Chemical Council's annual Resins Review.
Statistics Canada
Stats Can produces data, statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including manufacturing, trade and labour.
U.S. Economic Census
Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau every five years. Contains company, employment and production statistics for all industries.
U.S. International Trade Administration
The USITA tracks export/import data for a variety of products and provides research and analysis.

Market Research Reports

Chemical Industry Profiles
Executive summaries by regions, countries and products. Profiles include market overview, leading companies, demographics, competitive landscape and market segmentation. Search "chemicals industry profile" in "SO Publication Name."
IBISWorld
Provides U.S. and global industry research report modules. Covering over 700 industries, each report consists of 30-40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, performance (current & forecast), competitive landscape and more.

Historical Data

From the 1930s through the 1990s, the United States Tariff Commission published an annual report called Synthetic Organic Chemicals, United States Production and Sales. Many of these are now available in the HathiTrust Digital Library.

The following years are available in Stauffer Library.

1938, 1939, 1940, 1941-1943, 1944, 1945, 1953, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970,