Citing and Citation Managers

EndNote basic

• EndNote basic is a more limited reference management solution, intended for users new to research and writing, that is only available online. EndNote basic users can create an online library with a maximum of 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments.  
• There are two versions of EndNote basic:
  1. The free version of EndNote basic has 21 styles and a limited number of filters and connection files. This version is available to anybody, with no other purchase required.
  2. The version of EndNote basic available as part of the Web of Science database has thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. (This is the recommended version for Queen's affiliates).

EndNote desktop (also called EndNote X9, EndNote 20, EndNote 21 etc.)

• Queen's has a site license for EndNote desktop.
• Includes all the features available in EndNote basic and much more (check out the product comparison chart) .
• Download EndNote desktop from Queen's ITS Software Centre.
• See a reference sheet for EndNote desktop X9 to the left of this page.

• From research to publication, EndNote basic gives you the tools for learning how to do research, cite sources, write term papers, and even match your manuscript to a scientific journal.
• Create an online account to search, save and use your research sources.
• Save and organize the references you find (up to 50,000).
• Integrate with Microsoft® Word to properly cite and format your paper.
• Choose from popular bibliography formats, including MLA and APA style.
• Use manuscript matcher to identify the best journal for your research to be published.

• Team access to one reference library - work from a single reference library with up to 100 people, no matter where they are located or what organization they are affiliated with.
• Sort through years of work in seconds - search across reference metadata, full text journal articles, file attachments, and your personal annotations and notes, to locate the research you need in just seconds.
• Overcome research limitations - store and share as many references, documents and files as you need–a necessity for successful collaboration.
• Cite it right the first time - insert citations and references from your EndNote library into your manuscript and automatically build a bibliography in over 6,000 styles right from Microsoft Word. NEW: Cite while you write for Google Docs is now available in version 21 of EndNote desktop. 
• See what your team is doing - instantly see the history of changes made to your shared library with a built-in activity log.
• Take the guesswork out of journal submission - using EndNote online, find the journals where your research is most likely to be accepted based on an analysis of tens of millions of citation connections in Web of Science™.
• Let the full text find you - initiate a search for full text PDFs across your subscriptions and freely available sources. When the article is found, it will automatically be attached to your reference.
• Beginning with version 20, EndNote desktop now integrates the Retraction Watch database to alert you of retracted articles in your libraries. These will appear under a 'Retractions' section on the left navigation pane. More information about these alerts and how to activate them can be found in the EndNote 20: Retraction Alerts article.

What's New in EndNote 21 (3 mins) - 2023

Whether you are using EndNote basic or EndNote desktop, be sure you’re taking advantage of the ability to find full text easily.

EndNote basic

Although EndNote basic is freely available, if you sign-in to EndNote via the library database Web of Science (see below) you will be able to see Get it @ Queen's links for each citation that will take you to the full-text article if the publication is purchased by Queen's University Library or otherwise freely available.

EndNote desktop

If you have downloaded EndNote desktop using the site license for Queen's (see Introduction above), you can use the "Find Full Text" feature to import PDFs for your citations. You will be asked to authenticate your access (NetID and password required).

Go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text and add the OpenURL and proxy prefix as seen here:

OpenURL: https://ocul-qu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01OCUL_QU&vid=01OCUL_QU:QU_DEFAULT&genre=&atitle=&author=&volume=&issue=&spage=&date=&rft.btitle=&rft.jtitle=&issn=&isbn=<0060150424>&sid=_=

Proxy prefix: https://proxy.queensu.ca/login?url=

Once you’ve applied these settings, clicking on Find Full Text should import any PDFs available through Queen's University Library or otherwise freely available.

Note that in some cases EndNote is not able to locate the full text even though the library has it. In this case, you can use another method to track down the full article and attach it to the citation. 

• The citation library will exist but you will need to purchase a new license for EndNote desktop to do any editing once you leave Queen's and it expires.  
• EndNote is licensed yearly by Queen's. When the EndNote subscription has expired, your installation of EndNote will revert to a feature restricted Viewer. The data in your library has not been lost and can be restored by reactivating. Find details about the restricted viewer here.
• Where the file exists depends on if you are using EndNote in cloud or locally on your computer.