Corporate Law

This resources addresses matters from the initial stages of starting a corporate or non-corporate organization, including shareholder rights and remedies, corporate governance, director liabilities, debt and equity financing to the ongoing challenges of a business such as fundamental changes, restructurings, audits and shareholder meetings, corporate records and mergers and acquisitions.

This book explores the main stages in the life of the business from its start-up to its operation, and any alterations in its structure and/or participants. Supplemented with a detailed table of cases, it deals with the various facets of family-owned business and provides an in-depth coverage on the various Business Corporations Acts of Canada.

This resource provides analysis of the legal principles involved in all aspects of corporate law, as well as the judicial interpretation and application of these principles.

This book explores the full range of business structures in Canada and considers the roles they play in Canadian society. The readings are designed to enhance learners' understanding of how organizational structures are chosen for various business enterprises, taking into account the influence of law and policy. This edition features a fresh approach to considering structures for Indigenous enterprises, incorporating thoughtful critique of the suitability of organizational structures conceived outside Indigenous communities to enterprises operating within them.

Provides Canadian corporate law practitioners with an up-to-date toolkit including a comprehensive collection of precedents, forms, and checklists.

This text provides comprehensive coverage and analysis on the gamut of Canadian corporate law topics. Written in plain and clear language, the text discusses corporate law in the context of thousands of specific cases.

This textbook is an introduction to corporate governance and the new technology with a focus on directors’ duties. It offers an introductory conceptual framework and selected materials.

Students will follow a recurring scenario that illustrates the full life cycle of a single corporation, including its start-up, growth, maintenance, and dissolution. This edition offers new and updated content, discussion questions, practical examples, visuals, and numerous useful forms.

The text provides an overview of the essential features of the law governing business organizations in Canada, both in theory and practice. The fourth edition has been fully updated to reflect developments in the caselaw and statutory reforms in the last decade.

This book discusses the rules of procedure specific to meetings of directors, shareholders, and members for share capital and non-share capital corporations. It includes strategy tips for contentious situations, recent case law, appendices containing by-laws for relevant business law Acts, rules of order, updated tables and forms, a glossary of terms and more.