Skip to Main Content

DEVS 221: Topics in Aboriginal Studies

Education Source
For education topics - access to scholarly resources including information about aboriginal education at all levels.

ERIC

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), published by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, is a database of citations with abstracts and other pertinent data related to teaching and research in education, complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. Coverage includes: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs

Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, social sciences, and many more subject areas.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
This resource is useful for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.

IPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.  This initiative began in 2005 at the University of Saskatchewan as a resource for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community and currently links to nearly 50,000 items.

 

 

Why Use An Index

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in Omni for the title of the journal (rather than the title of the journal article) may show that we do have access to the article you are looking for. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider