A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
This database consists of these subject components, which can be searched simultaneously or individually (to search individually, limit to required citation database(s) at bottom of screen):
Science Citation Index Expanded - science and technology journals from 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index - social sciences journals from 1956-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - arts and humanities journals from 1975-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) from 1990-present
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) from 1990-present
SciFinder® is a research database owned and licensed by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder® provides students, faculty and researchers with a powerful interface for searching Chemical Abstracts and other CAS databases using keywords, chemical identifications, structures and reactions. SciFinder's coverage includes more than 10,000 journals and patents from 65 patent issuing authorities worldwide. As of June 2013, approximately 23.5% of the records in SciFinder are patents. (1907 to present.)
Scifinder has a user limit of 6 people at any one time. If you are a first time user, you must register to create an account (follow instructions after clicking the above link).
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. 1926 to present.
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
Subject coverage: All areas of life science, including such topics as: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.