Environmental Law

The Encyclopedia is organised into 12 volumes around top-level subjects - such as water, energy and climate change - that reflect some of the most pressing issues facing us today. Each volume probes the key elements of law, the essential concepts, and the latest research through concise, structured entries written by international experts. Each entry includes an extensive bibliography as a starting point for further reading.

Covering the origins, content, institutional structure and accountability mechanisms of international environmental law, in their social-economic and political context, Ellen Hey discusses substantive and procedural fairness, thus exploring questions of distributive justice, accountability and legitimacy.

This book takes a critical lens to humanity’s collective regulatory response to the existential threat of climate change. It explores those aspects of the international climate change regime that, albeit born of political dysfunction, demonstrate ingenuity, innovation and experimentation.

This book scrutinises how international courts and tribunals may respond procedurally to an ever-growing list of environmental disputes. Bendel discusses best practices in the interest of improving environmental litigation for each phase of a judicial procedure.

This book presents a new method for measuring the effectivity of national and international environmental law. The existing environmental indicators evaluate only statistical, scientific or economic data. With legal indicators, governments, parliaments and other public and private actors, including environmental NGOs, will be able to assess accurately and concretely, on a scientific basis, what the gaps, progress and setbacks in the implementation of international conventions and national laws are.

This handbook offers a comprehensive account of comparative environmental law. It examines in detail the methodological foundations of the discipline as well as the substance of environmental law across countries from four vantage points: country studies from all continents, responses to common problems, foundational components of environmental law systems, and common interactions of environmental protection with the broader public, private, and criminal law contexts.

Also in print: K3585 .O94 2021 LAW.
The Handbook discusses the key principles underpinning international environmental law, its relevant actors and tools, and rules applying in its substantive sub-fields such as climate law, oceans law, wildlife and biodiversity law, and hazardous substances regulation. It also explores the intersection of international environmental law with other areas of international law, such as those concerned with trade, investment, disaster, migration, armed conflict, intellectual property, energy, and human rights.

The vast majority of environmental law scholars and practitioners have tended to welcome the procedural features of multilateral environmental agreements and their potential to promote regime evolution and effectiveness. However, recent developments have served to put the spotlight on certain aspects of the procedure substance topic. This text explores the recent developments further.

This thoroughly revised Research Handbook on Climate Change Adaptation Law brings together leading scholars in the field to summarize and access key topics including tort and insurance law, disaster law, water law and marine law as well as biodiversity law and pollution control.

This book provides a comparative overview of climate change mitigation issues and international regulatory approaches, bringing together expert contributors to analyse key sectors such as energy, transport, cities, industry, land use, agriculture and waste.

This edition provides new chapters that critically engage with current legal issues surrounding activities that harm the marine environment, including marine pollution, seabed activities, exploitation of marine biodiversity and climate change, and with the different legal tools and mechanisms, including environmental impact assessments and compliance and dispute settlement mechanisms, used to protect the marine environment. New chapters also address legal issues relating to the role of technology and marine scientific research as well as the application of principles such as public participation.