Skip to Main Content

FILM 206: Research & Writing Methods

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed and have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process. Articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Search the following databases for film criticism and analysis.

Indexes over 560 journals with more than 160 full-text journals, and 160 full-text books.
 
This resource is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship (in all formats) on all aspects of cinema, television, and media studies, with original introductory and commentary text followed by an annotated list of cited works.
 

Also Useful to Search

 

American Film Institute Catalog
The AFI Catalog lists films, with plot summaries, filmographic information, and more ...

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Has full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and magazines, such as Variety, Boxoffice, Broadcast, The Hollywood Reporter, and American Cinematographer to name a few. 
 
A multi-disciplinary database which provides indexing (with abstracts) to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.
 
Part of Web of Science Core Collection. Indexes scholarly articles about film as well as critical reviews of films. 
 
CBCA Complete indexes 640 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
 

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as film criticism and other materials related to film and media studies.

Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.