Skip to Main Content

FILM 320: Media and the Arts

Omni

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Subject Indexes and Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC covers more than 600 journal titles and includes full text for over 200 journals in advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
 
Film and Literature Index
The definitive online tool for film and television research.
 
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Index to journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance
 
Index to articles on literature and related subjects, including film studies
 
Art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present
 
Art Abstracts
Indexing of journal articles on all aspects and periods of art.

Multi-disciplinary Indexes

The subject matter of this course crosses disciplines, covering areas such as literature, history, music, theatre, visual culture and even the sciences. Depending on your chosen topic, the following journal article databases may prove useful in your research.

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database for academic institutions, providing thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journals to support scholarly research in key areas of study

JSTOR
Large arts and humanities collection. Covers mass media, digital media, film, literature, music and performing arts.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Google's scholarly search engine.  Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials including journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Enabling the Get it @ Queen's links
Off-campus
: access Google Scholar through the Queen's Library's link where you will have to enter your NetID and password

To enable the Get it at Queen's links off campus

Omni
Omni is the library’s search engine, which enables a simultaneous search of many of the library’s online collections from a single search box. It can be a good starting point to find material but if you are doing high level research, you will want to search relevant subject specific databases.

Finding Specific Journal Articles
To find journal articles by title, you can search Omni. Type the title of the article in the search box and as much information to distinguish the article. 

Why Use An Index

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to  American history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, search Omni for the article or journal title. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want, depending on the resource provider. 

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

Items not at QUL?

For books and articles not owned by Queen’s University Library, request items through Interlibrary Loan (RACER).