Flute music
Solo flute
M60 - M64
Flute and piano
M240 - M242
Transcriptions
M243 - M244
Flute duets
M288 - M289
Woodwind quintets (including flute)
M557
Flute quintets
M557.2
Flute and orchestra
M1020 - M1021 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .F7
History/construction of the flute
ML935 - ML936
Techniques: studies and methods
MT340 - MT348
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
The Early Flute by
With the growing interest in recent years in the use of period instruments for recordings, live professional performances, and amateur music-making, the old-style transverse flutes are experiencing a remarkable comeback. The Early Flute is the first book in modern times to deal exclusivelywith the flutes used in the Renaissance, Baroque, and Classical eras. The book details the history of the transverse flute from 1500 until the early nineteenth century. Advice is given on acquiring instruments and on their care and maintenance. Additional chapters guide the reader to sourcesabout relevant technique and style, recommend repertoire, and give general advice to the modern player. The text is enhanced by numerous photographs of important historic flutes.
The flute by 
The flute: a study of its history, development and construction by 
The Flute by
This book tells the story of the flute in the musical life of Europe and North America from the twelfth century to the present day. It is the first history to illustrate the relationship that has bound the instrument, its music, and performance technique together through eight centuries of shifting musical tastes and practices. In a comprehensive and authoritative account of the flute’s development, Ardal Powell takes full account of recent research: on military flutes and fifes of the fifteenth century, the renaissance consort flute, baroque and classical instruments, mechanically advanced nineteenth-century designs by Theobald Boehm and others, and further innovations that led to the modern flute. All these transformations are related to revolutions in playing style and repertoire, in the lives of flute players and makers, and in the uses of the instrument to play military, religious, consort, solo, chamber, opera, symphony, jazz, popular, and flute band music. For the first time the role of amateur flutists receives due consideration alongside the influence of famous players and teachers. The ultimate guide to the heritage of the flute, this volume will delight both those who play the flute and those who love its music.
The Flute Book : a complete guide for students and performers by
Teachers and flutists at all levels have praised Nancy Toff's The Flute Book, a unique one-stop guide to the flute and its music. Organized into four main parts--The Instrument, Performance, The Music, and Repertoire Catalog--the book begins with a description of the instrument and its making,offers information on choosing and caring for a flute, sketches a history of the flute, and discusses differences between members of the flute family. In the Performance section, readers learn about breathing, tone, vibrato, articulation, technique, style, performing, and recording. In the extensiveanalysis of flute literature that follows, Toff places individual pieces in historical context. The book ends with a comprehensive catalog of solo and chamber repertoire, and includes appendices with fingering charts as well as lists of current flute manufacturers, repair shops, sources for flutemusic and books, and flute clubs and related organizations worldwide. In this Third Edition, Toff has updated the book to reflect technology's advancements -- like new digital recording technology and recordings' more prevalent online availability--over the last decade. She has also accounted for new scholarship on baroque flutes; recent developments like those ofthe contrabass flute, quarter-tone flute, and various manufacturing refinements and experiments; consumers' purchase prices for flutes; and an updated repertoire catalog, index, and appendices.
Flute secrets : advice for students, teachers and professionals by
Flute Secrets tells you everything you need to know about being a flautist. This innovative volume presents indispensable guidance for all flute players, from choosing the right instrument and tips on how to practice, to establishing a professional career and becoming a flute teacher. In Flute Secrets renowned educator and master musician Trevor Wye shares a lifetime's worth of knowledge and experience, enriched with music examples, illustrations and diagrams. With over 200 pages of advice, this book makes the perfect gift for students, teachers or professionals.
Guide to Teaching Woodwinds by
Guide to Teaching Woodwings is written primarily for the college student who is preparing for instrumental teaching, although the woodwind teacher or player will find it useful also. At a time when teacher education programs allow only a minimal amount of time for the specialized study of instrumental teaching, a text that not only provides the basics but includes essential details for future reference is essential. This text attempts to meet that need.
Mastering the Flute with William Bennett by
For the first time the exercises and teaching methods of world-renowned flutist William Bennett are featured in one workbook. After more than a decade of study with Bennett and many of his students, Roderick Seed has documented the tools that have made Bennett known for his ability to give the flute the depth, dignity, and grandeur of the voice or the stringed instrument. Topics range from how to overcome basic technical difficulties, such as pitch control, to the tools for phrasing, prosody, tone, and intonation needed for playing with different dynamics and ranges of expression. Advanced musicians will find useful exercises and techniques in this book that will deepen their knowledge and enjoyment of making music and help them in their quest to master the flute.
The Renaissance Flute : a contemporary guide by
The renaissance flute, with its rich history, stunning repertoire, and mellow tone, has attracted a significant following among flutists, whether they specialize in modern flute or historical instruments. Yet, actually delving into the study of renaissance flute has proven a challenge - there exists a confusing array of editions of renaissance music, specialized (and often expensive) facsimiles of manuscripts and early prints, and in unfamiliar notations, while at the same time there is a dearth of resources for beginners. Confronting this challenge with the first ever practitioners' handbook for renaissance flute, Kate Clark and Amanda Markwick offer flutists of all levels a clear and accessible introduction to the world and repertoire of the instrument. In The Renaissance Flute: A Contemporary Guide, Clark and Markwick cover all aspects, from practicalities such as buying and maintaining the instrument, to actual music for solo and group performance, to theory designed to improve the understanding and playing of renaissance polyphony. This approach enables students to immerse themselves at their own pace and build on their skills with each chapter. With nearly 40 full pages of exercises, and a companion website with recorded examples and filmed instructions from the authors, The Renaissance Flute provides professionals and newcomers alike a new entryway into the world and practice of renaissance music.
The Technique of the Flute : chord studies, rhythm studies by
(Berklee Guide). Learn to play jazz harmonies and rhythms on the flute. This book combines Joe Viola's two classic texts of the Technique of the Flute series: "Chord Studies" and "Rhythm Studies." You will learn melody, harmony, rhythm and improvisation techniques. In "Chord Studies" you will practice jazz harmonies and scales. In "Rhythm Studies" you will practice rhythms in simple and compound meters, with a variety of articulations, dynamics and phrase structures.
The Virtuoso Flute-Player by
This is an English translation of Tutor for Playing the Flute (1791) by Johann George Tromlitz. The most explicit of the eighteenth-century tutors for flute-playing, it now serves as a record of instrumental practice as well as a useful guide to the performance of German classical music. The Tutor covers all aspects of flute playing, including intonation, articulation, flute maintenance, posture and breathing, dynamics, ornaments, musical style, cadenzas, and the construction of the flute. This edition will be an indispensable manual for players of baroque and modern flutes, and the information it contains will be invaluable for all musicians, students, and specialists interested in the historically informed performance of German classical music. The text is annotated with critical notes and all of the original music examples are newly printed in modern notation. The volume also contains a fingering chart and a historical introduction.
World Flutelore : folktales, myths, and other stories of magical flute power by
In many places around the world, flutes and the sounds of flutes are powerful magical forces for seduction and love, protection, vegetal and human fertility, birth and death, and other aspects of human and non-human behavior. This book explores the cultural significance of flutes, flute playing, and flute players from around the world as interpreted from folktales, myths, and other stories--in a word, "flutelore." A scholarly yet readable study, World Flutelore: Folktales, Myths, and Other Stories of Magical Flute Power draws upon a range of sources in folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and literary analysis. Describing and interpreting many examples of flutes as they are found in mythology, poetry, lyrics, and other narrative and literary sources from around the world, veteran ethnomusicologist Dale Olsen seeks to determine what is singularly distinct or unique about flutes, flute playing, and flute players in a global context. He shows how and why world flutes are important for personal, communal, religious, spiritual, and secular expression and even, perhaps, existence. This is a book for students, scholars, and any reader interested in the cultural power of flutes.
