Skip to Main Content

Geography

Article Indexes

Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Key Indexes

Covers global literature in earth science, ecology, geography, and marine science.
 
Indexes articles on geography, particularly as it relates to geology.

Multidisciplinary Social Sciences Indexes

A multilingual, multidisciplinary index covering geography and more ...
 
Social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.
 
An index to major journals in the social sciences, including demography, cultural, economic, historical and human geography, planning and environmental studies.

Broad Multidiscplinary Indexes

Peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
 
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
 
The content in Scholars Portal comprises the most complete multi-disciplinary database of peer reviewed academic literature available anywhere.

Public Health & Geography Indexes

CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Index to English-language journals in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, consumer health and other allied health fields.
 
A digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences literature.
 
A pre-selected group of databases covering literature published in health & medicine. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.

Other Useful Subject-Oriented Indexes

Provides indexing in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
 
The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database covers many aspects of northern Canada, including the earth sciences, the life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, co-management, politics and government, economic and social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, archaeology, history, art and literature.
 
Indexes Canadian popular and academic journals as well as business and special interest journals.
 
An important index from U.S. and English language geographical research.
Geographical Abstracts
Call number varies | in SL Compact Shelving | (1967-1980)
Print indexes containing citations to research in physical & human geography, climatology, geomorphology, and cartography. Superseded by Geobase.
 
Covers public and social policy materials, including journals, books, government publications, pamphlets, and reports of public and private agencies.
 
An interdisciplinary index to major journals in the sciences, including physical geography, planning and resource management.