Research Guides: Health Studies: Reference Resources: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Reference Resources

Finding background information in a specialzed reference work at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are unfamiliar with the subject area, need to focus or narrow your topic or are not sure from what angle to approach your research.

Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks can provide:

Background information on a topic;
Broad overview of the subject;
Names of people who are authorities in the subject field;
Bibliographies that lead to additional resources; and
Main concepts or keywords that describe your topic.

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
Dictionary of Public Health
Dictionary Plus Medicine and Health

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion
Encyclopedia of Public Health

Handbooks

Global handbook on noncommunicable diseases and health promotion
The Oxford handbook of global health politics
Routledge handbook of indigenous well-being
Routledge handbook of sport, race and ethnicity
Routledge handbook of sustainable and regenerative food systems
Routledge international handbook of race, culture and mental health

Databases

PENNutrition: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition (PEN) PENNutrition is a database developed by Dietitians of Canada containing evidence-based guidance on food and nutrition. With tools and resources, it supports decision-making for a broad spectrum of practice in nutrition and dietetics.