Insurance Law

This resource provides users with leading case law and commentary. It will keep readers informed of legal developments and their impact on Canadian insurers, brokers and policyholders.

This book provides an overview of the current state of Canadian law as it applies to insurance-related matters.

This comprehensive publication focuses exclusively on Canadian insurance law general principles, and is now fully updated to take into account the latest developments in case law and insurance regulation.

Canadian insurance law is a complex mixture of federal and provincial legislation, common law, and custom. This book offers a detailed survey of this regulatory patchwork, divided into three parts. Part 1 provides an introduction to the creation and enforcement of insurance contracts. The subject of Part 2 is the creation of an enforceable insurance contract. Part 3 examines the principles applicable to the enforcement of insurance contracts.

This text provides a complete treatment of Insurance Law in Canada, combining a scholarly treatment of general principles with a practical treatment of the issues arising in specific types of insurance practice.

This text provides a succinct overview of the important legal aspects of Canadian insurance law thereby providing a framework for approaching insurance law issues head on.

Also available in print: KE1198 H55 2020 LAW.
This title follows the same format as earlier editions and covers all aspects of liability insurance (excluding automobile), from general principles of insurance law and insurance contracts to specific clauses and types of policies.

Provides an introduction to the subject from identifying and analyzing potential risk exposures to assessing the alternatives for dealing with them.

Written in clear, jargon-free language, this text covers everything from the basic insurance concepts, principles, and structure of insurance policies to today's most complex issues and disputes. After providing information about insurance policies and issues in general, it focuses on specific types of policies and coverage such as property coverage, liability coverage, automobile coverage, excess and umbrella coverage, and reinsurance, plus such vital areas as employment, defective construction, and much more.