Skip to main content

Introduction to Research

Omni Search

Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Specific databases, e.g. America:History and Life; Historical Abstracts and Academic Search Complete, are supplied by the company ESCOhost, so only searching Omni for articles could be problematic.

Finding Articles

Articles are important in your research, especially for detailed and current information on a topic. .

The library provides access to many different kinds of articles from newspaper articles to popular magazine articles to scholarly journal articles.  Whether you are starting with an idea for a topic or the citation for a specific article, the library can get you the article you need. 

Finding Articles on a Topic 

If you don't have a specific article but you want to find articles on a topic, you can find them by doing a search in Omni. Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included.

If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.

Finding the best articles requires that you select an appropriate database or index. Either Browse Databases by Subject or choose Research by Subject for a guide as to what indexes or databases would be best for your field of study. If you are unsure as to what index you should use for your particular topic, contact your subject librarian or use ASK US

Apply the same keyword strategies in electronic indexes that were successful in finding books.

Before searching, note the time coverage and the content of the electronic index (some are full text, others have only citations and some have citations and abstracts).

Print indexes are still valuable resources. They often cover more years than electronic indexes, some going back to the 19th century. Note time coverage and content of the print index and other information such as a guide to any abbreviations used in the index.

Make sure that Queen's has the issue that you need. Periodicals are available in many different formats: loose issues, bound paper volumes, microfilm, and/or electronic.

Understanding Citations

A citation is the information you need to find the article in the Library or to request a copy from another library. Citations give you the title, author, journal title, volume and pages. Here is a sample of a journal citation

undefined

 

Periodicals?

Periodicals are publications issued periodically or at regular intervals: daily, weekly, monthly, semiannually, etc.

Usually each one is an issue and there is one volume per year, each volume consisting of multiple issues. Examples of periodicals include: scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, trade journals, and newspapers.   

See our page on evaluating journals to learn how to identify the difference between them. 

More information on Evaluating Articles (University of Lethbridge Library).

Accessing Articles

If you are trying to access an article from off campus, and it doesn't seem to work, make sure you are logged in to the library homepage before opening the article. 

Many of our databases require you to be logged in for security reasons if you're working from a computer outside of the university's network.

Off Campus Access

This page provides information to help you make sure you're connected properly when working outside the library.