Skip to main content

MUSC 210: Western Art Music: Crusades to Colonialism

Journal Citation

How to analyze a journal citation

Lockwood, Lewis.  "Performance and "authenticity". Early Music 19, no. 4 (November 1991): 501-506.

The citation refers to an article in a journal.

Tip: Use the Journal Search in Omni to see if Queen's Library subscribes to the journal early music.  Omit initial articles (the, an, a), if any.  Ignore punctuation and case.

Key Musicology Journals

Below are selected key musicology journals.  Many good articles will also be found in other music or interdisciplinary journals.

Check Omni under Journal Title Exact to see if the journal is in print or electronic format at Queen's:

19th century music
 
Early music
 
Early music history
 
Eighteenth-century music
 
Ethnomusicology; print (more up-to-date)
 
Journal of seventeenth century music
 
Journal of the American Musicological Society
 
Music & Letters
 
MUSICultures (formerly: Canadian journal for traditional music)
 
Nineteenth-century music review
 
Nota bene: Canadian undergraduate journal of  musicology
 
Plainsong & medieval music
 
Women & music: a journal of gender and culture
 
World of music

Article indexes

Find citations of journal articles or book chapters on your topic in an article index or subject-related database such as RILM or Music Index Online.  Use the web proxy to access electronic journals and databases from off-campus.

Nota bene: Once you find a useful citation, search Omni for the source journal or book title containing the article you need: i.e the title of the whole book or the whole journal in which the article can be found.

Some databases provide PDF full text articles, or contain links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Can't find the article you need at Queen's either in print or electronically? Try RACER, our interlibrary loan service. But remember to start your research early!  Please note: print ILL requests have been discontinued during COVID-19 until further notice, but requests for e-books or e-articles are possible.

Key Music Article Databases

Music Index Online

Publication coverage: 1970 - present (some backfile indexing for 1962-1969)
Articles from over 700 international music periodicals. Includes book, music recording, and performance reviews. Access to historiographic, ethnographic and musicological information. Topics include music personages, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, and computer-produced music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Access limit of 4 simultaneous users
Publication coverage: 1967 - present
Comprehensive, scholarly, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz. Many of the RILM dissertations can be found in PDF format in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
 

Other Related Databases

Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports. Approximately 50% of journal titles contain full-text articles)

America: History and Life Canadian resource (covers also native populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico)

ATLA Religion Database (topics include world religions, and religious perspectives on social issues)

Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including music)

Historical Abstracts (Comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present. Indexes journal articles, selected books and dissertations).

International Bibliography of Art (IBA, continues BHA) (European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history)

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (selective articles with full-text)

International Medieval Bibliography (search as well as Iter below)

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

A bibliography of books, journal material, dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JSTOR (electronic journal archive providing access to entire backrun of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

MLA International Bibliography (Comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc.)

Oxford Reference Online - Music (Music collection component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full text in PDF format for most of the dissertations and theses added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works

Evaluating Journal Articles

Journal articles are important as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Consult our guide Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals, to help evaluate and decide which journal articles will be useful for your essay.

Other Music Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index Canadian resource

Citations to articles on music in Canada dating from the late-19th century to the present day.
Classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material. Publication coverage: 15th - 21st centuries.
Part of the Canadian Encyclopedia, supported and updated by the Historica Foundation.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Covers popular music of all genres and periods, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music as well as popular music trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Publication coverage: 1900 to present.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Full text online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, with updated articles date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.  See Oxford Music Online below.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (100 user limit)
Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Full-text, online version of Grove Music Online (includes The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with ongoing additions and updates.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Audio files for published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and more.