Percussion music
Solo percussion (including some electronic instruments)
M145 - M175
Percussion and piano
M284 - M285
Percussion and orchestra
M1038 - M1039 (full scores and piano reductions)
Percussion and String orchestra
M1138 - M1139 (full scores and piano reductions)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .P23
History/construction of percussion instruments
ML1030
Techniques: studies and methods
MT655
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
Bibliographic Analysis of Percussion Literature by
In this work, a broad spectrum of publication is studied, from Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, through Rodgers and the Beatles. It contains essays annotating bibliographic entries concerning percussion. Subjects include opera, symphony orchestra, and popular and jazz music.
Body Percussion -- Sounds and Rhythms by
Body Percussion: Sounds and Rhythms is an innovative, comprehensive folio of practice material for anyone interested in discovering his or her own body as a universal rhythm instrument. Contents include basic sounds, warm-ups, grooves in varying styles, six solo pieces from easy to advanced, practice tips, and three exciting ensemble arrangements. The accompanying DVD illustrates techniques, makes reproducible the single path of motions, and includes examples of all exercises, sounds, rhythms, and solo pieces. Body Percussion: Sounds and Rhythms is the perfect guide for self-study.
The Bucket Book : a junkyard percussion manual by
The Bucket Book is a groundbreaking new resource for elementary and middle school general music classes. This inventive program is designed to help teachers and students discover the joy of creating music and the fun of using homemade or found instruments to do so. Fully reproducible, and including a Data CD with thirty MP3s of musical examples and a PDF of the book for projection and enhanced classroom learning, The Bucket Book curriculum teaches rhythm skills and percussion techniques using easy-to-teach lessons that do not require a percussion background. Detailed information, photos, and resources are provided to acquaint educators with percussion vocabulary and techniques. The activities will engage and delight your students as they explore different timbres and search for the next great sound or rhythm they can produce with their instruments. For teachers wishing to provide their students with a creative, high-quality music education, The Bucket Book is an outstanding resource! Recommended for grades 3--9.
The Cambridge Companion to Percussion by
Percussion music is both the oldest and most recent of musical genres and exists in diverse forms throughout the world. This Companion explores percussion and rhythm from the perspectives of performers, composers, conductors, instrument builders, scholars, and cognitive scientists. Topics covered include percussion in symphony orchestras from the nineteenth century to today and the development of percussion instruments in chapters on the marimba revolution, the percussion industry, drum machines, and the effect of acoustics. Chapters also investigate drum set playing and the influences of world music on Western percussion, and outline the roles of percussionists as composers, conductors, soloists, chamber musicians, and theatrical performers. Developments in scientific research are explored in chapters on the perception of sound and the evolution of musical rhythm. This book will be a valuable resource for students, percussionists, and all those who want a deeper understanding of percussion music and rhythm.
Encyclopedia of Percussion by
The Encyclopedia of Percussionis an extensive guide to percussion instruments, organized for research as well as general knowledge. Focusing on idiophones and membranophones, it covers in detail both Western and non-Western percussive instruments. These include not only instruments whose usual sound is produced percussively(like snare drums and triangles), but those whose usual sound is produced concussively(like castanets and claves) or by friction(like the cu#65533;caand the lion's roar). The expertise of contributors have been used to produce a wide-ranging list of percussion topics. The volume includes: (1) an alphabetical listing of percussion instruments and terms from around the world; (2) an extensive section of illustrations of percussion instruments; (3) thirty-five articles covering topics from Basel drumming to the xylophone; (4) a list of percussion symbols; (5) a table of percussion instruments and terms in English, French, German, and Italian; and (6) an updated section of published writings on methods for percussion.
How to Write for Percussion by
While composers and percussionists are working more closely than ever with one another, there are few resources that address this collaborative relationship in depth. However, Samuel Z. Solomon, himself a percussionist and teacher, offers a comprehensive examination of the issues thatpercussionists and composers encounter in How to Write for Percussion. The first edition, self-published in 2004, provided musicians and music programs the world over with practical and indispensible information about issues of notation, concert production, and much more. This new edition goes evenfurther as Solomon offers more insights derived from his personal experience as a percussionist and teacher and from his collaborations with other musicians. The second edition of How to Write for Percussion expands the survey of behind-the-scenes processes-from instrument choice and notation to logistics, execution, and concert production-to uncover all the tools a composer needs to comfortably create innovative and skilled percussion composition.Solomon also includes more excerpts and performances as well as interviews with famous percussionists and composers that capture the intricacies of percussion composition. Moreover, the second edition features an expanded text with more instruments and more analysis, plus an extensive Online VideoCompanion containing over nine hours of videos with demonstrations, performances, interviews, and analysis to flesh out and clarify the material in the book. This updated edition of How to Write for Percussion will appeal to a wide swath of musicians including composers, arrangers, andpercussionists. Those who have already utilized the first edition will welcome the upgrade, and those who have yet to benefit from Solomon's perspective will likewise find his insights illuminating.
Manual for the Modern Drummer by
(Berklee Guide). Learn jazz drums from one of the classic texts of jazz drumming, Alan Dawson. This book presents some of his seminal thoughts about drumming technique. The book also includes several articles about jazz styles and history by DownBeat magazine editor Don DeMicheal, plus his insights about the soloing styles of jazz greats like Chick Webb, Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich, Max Roach, Art Blakey and others. This source material from two of the jazz era's most insightful champions of the drum set will teach you how to: develop your sense of time and jazz feel * master jazz rhythms and meter * play with greater independence and expressive nuance * perform essential beats * deveop your soloing ability * and much more.
Percussion : drumming, beating, striking by
Percussion is an attempt--in the author's words--to make sense of "senseless beating," to grasp how rhythm makes sense in music and society. Both a scholar and a former professional drummer, John Mowitt forges a striking encounter between cultural studies and new musicology that seeks to lay out the "percussive field" through which beating--specifically the backbeat that defines early rock-and-roll--comes to matter for raced, urban subjects. For Mowitt, percussion is both an experience of embodiment--making contact in and on the skin--and a provocation for critical theory itself. In delimiting the percussive field, he plays drumming off against the musicological account of the beat, the sociological account of shock and the psychoanalytical account of fantasy. In the process he touches on such topics as the separation of slaves and drums in the era of the slave trade, the migration of rural blacks to urban centers of the North, the practice and politics of "rough music," the links between interpellation and possession, the general strike, beating fantasies, and the concept of the "skin ego." Percussion makes a fresh and provocative contribution to cultural studies, new musicology, the history of the body and critical race theory. It will be of interest to students of cultural studies and critical theory as well as readers with a serious interest in the history of music, rock-and-roll and drumming.
Percussion Instruments and Their History by 
Practical Percussion : a guide to the instruments and their sources by
An Object of Desire? Or of Fear? It was stolen from a New Orleans gravethe centuries-old bust of an evil man, a demonic man. It's an object desired by collectors and by those with wickedness in their hearts. One day, its current owner shows up at Danni Cafferty's antiques shop on Royal Street, the shop she inherited from her father. But before Danni can buy the statue, it disappears and the owner is found dead
. Michael Quinn, former cop and now private investigator, is determined to find and destroy this object with its long history of evil and even longer trail of death. He and Danni are drawn together in their search for the missing statue, following it through sultry New Orleans nights to hidden places in the French Quarter and secret ceremonies on abandoned plantations. But Cafferty and Quinn know that their story won't end when this case is closed and the dead rest in peace once again.
Rhythm and Beauty by
This guide to the art of percussion includes a 45-minute compact disk of music.
Teaching Percussion by
This revision continues to set the standard in percussion instrument methods texts. Providing a comprehensive introduction to every aspect of percussion education, technique, and performance, this text helps students develop musical understanding and performance skills. The text's consistent and detailed philosophy introduces students to a refined teaching methodology, as well as a greater understanding of the learning process, by integrating contemporary concepts about experiential awareness learning.
