Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
Philosophy @ ProQuest
Search Philosopher's Index and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences simultaneously, from this starting point.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary. Great for all topics.
Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. By accessing Google Scholar from this link you will be prompted to enter your NetID and password (from off-campus) which activates full text access to journals subscribed to by Queen's Library.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Multidisciplinary. Provides international coverage and indexes journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters.
Political Studies @ ProQuest
A collection of political studies databases.
JSTOR
Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive (JSTOR) is an electronic journal archive which provides online access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. From Vol. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume.
Web of Science: Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A&HCI is part of Web of Science. To search this database select A&HCI under More Settings at the bottom of the screen.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that indexes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, open access journals, conference proceedings, books, and trade publications. See the Scopus Fact Sheet for more details.
Social Sciences @ Proquest
A pre-selected group of 25 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in the social sciences.
With over 2000 titles, Education Source from EBSCO is the world's largest collection of full-text education journals. It includes both professional journals that support classroom practice and scholarly research journals that report on studies in the field of education.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) via EBSCOhost
A database of citations with abstracts related to teaching and research in education complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. Coverage includes: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials. The ERIC Thesaurus is an excellent source for building the vocabulary for your search strategies.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Content from many Canadian journals is discoverable in Education Source but if you are doing a comprehensive search Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) database from ProQuest should also be searched. CBCA is a multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 900 Canadian publications and ongoing full text for over 300 titles.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports published internationally. Includes cited references.
If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed journals, you can typically restrict your search results to return results published in peer-reviewed journals by applying a search limit in the database. There are also limits to restrict your search results further, such as to articles or book reviews.
Hein Online Law Journal Library
Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals from jurisdictions including Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom.