Access TumbleMath here!
TumbleMath is a collection of online math picture books and chapter books that include animation and narration. Enjoy!
Beyond 1, 2, 3 by
Beyond 1, 2, 3 is a comprehensive collection providing an overview of important topics within the field of early childhood mathematics education in Canada. Chapters include a mix of theory and practice and feature rich pedagogical tools including, a set of learning objectives, key terms, and discussion questions. Authored by expert contributors from across Canada, the foundational opening section includes chapters on how to support curiosity in early mathematics learning; understanding, assessing, and building children's early number skills; principles for teaching early mathematics with manipulatives; and an overview of the typical characteristics and cognitive processes of students with mathematics learning disabilities. Section two highlights play as a tool to build spatial thinking and abstract ideas, while demonstrating practical examples of how to integrate assessment into math play. Section three explores a touchscreen technology program called TouchCounts and practical ideas for how coding can support early mathematics learning. Section four ties together the other sections with emphasis on the role of parents and the community in encouraging early math learning through different practices that may be used at home and in community-based programs. Beyond 1, 2, 3 is an important text for primary and elementary mathematics education courses offered in Bachelor of Education and Early Childhood Education programs, and is also a professional learning resource for teachers and early childhood educators.
Good Questions: Great Ways to Differentiate Mathematics Instruction by
Now in its Fourth Edition--with more than 50 new questions and a new chapter on financial literacy--this bestselling resource helps experienced and novice teachers effectively and efficiently differentiate mathematics instruction in grades K-8. Math education expert Marian Small shows teachers how to get started and become expert at using two powerful and universal strategies: Open Questions and Parallel Tasks. This edition is even easier for teachers to use in all quality state standards environments, including direct links to content standards and standards for mathematical practice. Parallel tasks and question examples are provided at each grade band: K-2, 3-5, and 6-8. Along with each example, the text describes how teachers can evoke productive conversations that meet the needs of a broad range of learners. Book Features: New tasks and questions to develop financial literacy. Connection of tasks and questions to standards and mathematical big ideas. About 500 tasks and questions that teachers can adapt or use as-is. Teaching tips and task variations. A template to help teachers build new tasks. "Look-fors" to see student thinking and diagnose difficulties. Guidance for using follow-up questions and math conversations to create a rich math classroom.
Mathematical Mindsets by
Banish math anxiety and give students of all ages a clear roadmap to success Mathematical Mindsets provides practical strategies and activities to help teachers and parents show all children, even those who are convinced that they are bad at math, that they can enjoy and succeed in math. Jo Boaler--Stanford researcher, professor of math education, and expert on math learning--has studied why students don't like math and often fail in math classes. She's followed thousands of students through middle and high schools to study how they learn and to find the most effective ways to unleash the math potential in all students. There is a clear gap between what research has shown to work in teaching math and what happens in schools and at home. This book bridges that gap by turning research findings into practical activities and advice. Boaler translates Carol Dweck's concept of 'mindset' into math teaching and parenting strategies, showing how students can go from self-doubt to strong self-confidence, which is so important to math learning. Boaler reveals the steps that must be taken by schools and parents to improve math education for all. Mathematical Mindsets: Explains how the brain processes mathematics learning Reveals how to turn mistakes and struggles into valuable learning experiences Provides examples of rich mathematical activities to replace rote learning Explains ways to give students a positive math mindset Gives examples of how assessment and grading policies need to change to support real understanding Scores of students hate and fear math, so they end up leaving school without an understanding of basic mathematical concepts. Their evasion and departure hinders math-related pathways and STEM career opportunities. Research has shown very clear methods to change this phenomena, but the information has been confined to research journals--until now. Mathematical Mindsets provides a proven, practical roadmap to mathematics success for any student at any age.
Mindset Mathematics: Visualizing and Investigating Big Ideas, Grade 4 by
Engage students in mathematics using growth mindset techniques The most challenging parts of teaching mathematics are engaging students and helping them understand the connections between mathematics concepts. In this volume, you'll find a collection of low floor, high ceiling tasks that will help you do just that, by looking at the big ideas at the first-grade level through visualization, play, and investigation. During their work with tens of thousands of teachers, authors Jo Boaler, Jen Munson, and Cathy Williams heard the same message--that they want to incorporate more brain science into their math instruction, but they need guidance in the techniques that work best to get across the concepts they needed to teach. So the authors designed Mindset Mathematics around the principle of active student engagement, with tasks that reflect the latest brain science on learning. Open, creative, and visual math tasks have been shown to improve student test scores, and more importantly change their relationship with mathematics and start believing in their own potential. The tasks in Mindset Mathematics reflect the lessons from brain science that: There is no such thing as a math person - anyone can learn mathematics to high levels. Mistakes, struggle and challenge are the most important times for brain growth. Speed is unimportant in mathematics. Mathematics is a visual and beautiful subject, and our brains want to think visually about mathematics. With engaging questions, open-ended tasks, and four-color visuals that will help kids get excited about mathematics, Mindset Mathematics is organized around nine big ideas which emphasize the connections within the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and can be used with any current curriculum.
Teaching Math at a Distance, Grades K-12: A Practical Guide to Rich Remote Instruction by
Make Rich Math Instruction Come to Life Online When distance learning is the "new normal," educators know that rich remote math teaching involves more than direct instruction and endless practice problems. This powerful guide translates what we know about research-based, equitable, rigorous face-to-face mathematics instruction into an online venue and equips math teachers to: · Build students' agency, identity, and strong math communities · Promote mathematical thinking, collaboration, and discourse · Incorporate rich mathematics tasks and assign meaningful homework and practice · Assess mathematics learning from a distance Teaching Math at a Distance offers the support, clarity, and inspiration teachers need to provide all students with deep learning and academic growth.
Teaching Math Online by
Learn how to provide rich, online mathematics instruction that maximizes the screen time you have with students and includes parents without overwhelming them. Marian Small shows teachers how to use open questions and parallel tasks as ideal strategies for teaching math in a virtual environment, how to adapt existing materials, how to build and maintain community with students online, and how and when to use "office hours" to assist students and parents. This practical resource examines the benefits that online learning affords, such as recorded lessons that families can access for reteaching and tasks that use home environments as resources for counting, measuring, geometry, data analysis, and more. Students absorb the deep message that math is indeed everywhere. Readers will find clear explanations, engaging teaching examples, and troubleshooting tips. Teaching Math Online is essential for anyone teaching K-8 math either wholly online or in blended classrooms. Book Features: Provides immediate assistance for teachers with either little or extensive experience teaching math online. Offers specific suggestions for supporting parents in their new partnership role. Addresses both logistical and pedagogical issues important to successful online learning. Includes access to teaching videos and scripts for teachers to create their own at tcpress.com/teachingmathonline. Provides reproducibles for creating math manipulatives and tools. Discusses distanced formative assessment. Suggests additional online resources.
Math Running Records in Action by
In this new book from popular consultant and bestselling author Dr. Nicki Newton, you'll discover how to use Math Running Records to assess students' basic fact fluency and increase student achievement. Like a GPS, Math Running Records pinpoint exactly where students are in their understanding of basic math facts and then outline the next steps toward comprehensive fluency. This practical book introduces a research-based framework to assess students' thinking and move them toward becoming confident, proficient, flexible mathematicians with a robust sense of numbers. Topics include: Learning how often to administer Math Running Records and how to strategically introduce them into your existing curriculum; Analyzing, and interpreting Math Running Records for addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division; Using the data gathered from Math Running Records to implement evidence-based, research-driven instruction. Evaluating students' speed, accuracy, flexibility, and efficiency to help them attain computational fluency; Each chapter offers a variety of charts and tools that you can use in the classroom immediately, and the strategies can easily be adapted for students at all levels of math fluency across grades K-8. Videos of sample running records are also available for download at https://guidedmath.wordpress.com/math-running-records-videos.
