Research Guides: Point of Care Tools: Mobile Apps

Apps via the Library

Please Note:

Download apps available via Queen's University Library using Queen's wifi on-campus to avoid access issues!
Some mobile apps are available to our outreach partners. See your library website for details.

Databases and Point of Care Tools:

BMJ Best Practice

A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment. Mobile access is available.

Available for iPhone, iPad, and Android devices.
If you are a new user:
Step 1) To access the BMJ Best Practice app, make sure you are connected to the Queen’s University wifi to download the app and set up your user profile. You cannot set up the BMJ Best Practice app using your mobile data.
Step 2) Under “Access through your institution”, select “Network/Wifi”.
Step 3) Once your access is validated, you will be prompted to set up a “user profile”, which will allow you to track your activity for CPD/CME, use the bookmark function, and access BMJ Best Practice from any device.
If you are an existing user, log in to your BMJ Best Practice app with your current login details.

CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL
CINAHL provides indexing for more than 6,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 8 million records, offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included.

Bracken Library Database Highlight: CINAHL:

https://youtu.be/UAnQfrw0Acg?si=wr3IH5GMyEV0R8_m

Date Coverage: 1981 - very recent articles

Index to English-language journals in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields.
Step 1) Click here and scroll down to the bottom of the page.
Step 2) Click "iPhone and Android apps" to email yourself a download link and key. Available for iPhone and iPad.

CPS (formerly known as RxTx)

CPS (formerly known as RxTx) provides access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. Included are: access to best practices on common medical conditions, e-CPS, CPhA's Therapeutic Choices, Lexi -Comp's Lexi-Interact, information for patients, Health Canada Advisories, and more.

Step 1) Go to: www.pharmacists.ca/register
Step 2) Enter your existing username and password or create an account.
Step 3) You will receive a “welcome” email asking you to create your CPhA password—follow the instructions.
Step 4) Once your CPhA password has been set, visit the “profile” icon located at the top right of the page and select “profile” from the dropdown menu.
Step 5) Scroll down to the “Set Mobile Enterprise Code” section. Enter the Organization Code 0006893 and set a CPS password. Click on the “Next” button.
Step 6) You are all set! Download the CPS mobile app on your device and use your email address and the password you just created to login.

DynaMed
DynaMed is a next-generation clinical reference resource useful for getting answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. Content is written and reviewed by a team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

Dynamed includes: Overviews and Recommendations for the most common conditions as well as evidence-based recommendations for action, Micromedex® Clinical Knowledge Suite drug content, and many medical graphics and images. Also included is a wide array of specialty topics in areas such as infectious disease and immunology, cardiology, oncology and emergency medicine. Mobile Access is available.

Step 1) Download the app from the app store.
Step 2) Sign in with your Personal User Account to authenticate the app. Don’t have a Personal Account? Create one by accessing DynaMed on the web through your institution and then selecting the Sign In/Create Account link in the top right hand corner of the screen. Note: You will need to accept the privacy terms on the web before being able to access the app.

Micromedex 2.0
The evidence-based resources of Micromedex® Solutions are used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.

The evidence-based resources of Micromedex^® Solutions are used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile access is available.

Step 1) Click here to access Micromedex.
Step 2) Click on the Download Center link found in the right corner of screen.
Step 3) Follow the download instructions available on that page.

VisualDx

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. With a strong dermatology component, this application can help quickly build a differential to evaluate the possibilities, compare variations, and improve diagnostic accuracy. Its vast medical image library includes many skin types, and pigments effectively providing access to clinical information and images at the point of care, on any device - mobile, tablet, or desktop. Images may be used in course management systems.

Step 1) First create an account while on campus, or using the VPN. Click "Get the Mobile app" and follow the instructions to register.
Step 2) On your device, find VisualDx in the Google Play Store or iTunes App Store.
Step 3) Download the app and log in using the account you created.

Books, Journals and Reading Tools:

The Medical Letter
The Medical Letter provides users with access to objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs.
Step 1) Click here and register for a free personal account to access the app.
Step 2) Download the app. Available for iPhone, iPad, and Android devices.
Read by QxMD
Seamless access to full-text journal articles purchased by Queen’s. Provides a single place to discover new research, read topic reviews and search PubMed.
Step 1) Download the app from the Apple or Google Play app store (or go to : http://qxmd.com/read). **Note: do this while on campus.
Step 2) Open the app on your device. Create an account.
Step 3) You will be prompted to 'add library access'. Click 'get access' and choose Queen's University from the list.
Step 4) Select 'auto-login'. Enter your Queen's NetID and password.
Stat!Ref ebooks
A collection of reference e-book titles, including dictionaries and Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses. Available for iPhone, iPad and Android devices.
Thieme eBooks Library
The Thieme E-Book Library is a collection of full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme’s renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series. This comprehensive electronic library covers every course in the medical school curriculum to help students, researchers and clinicians master critical subjects in medicine and the life sciences. Available for iPhone, iPad, and Android devices.

Free Apps

Evernote Basic
Take notes. Keep a journal. Clip anything from the web. Evernote lets you store and share information quickly and securely.