American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, The by 
American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, The by 
Case Files Psychiatry by
Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by
DSM-5® Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5® diagnosis described.* Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5® diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary.* A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous.* Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5® diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5® Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing the DSM-5® to the examining room.
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Based closely on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, it offers a rich selection of perspectives in an easy-to-use format. The author, an expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment, recognizes that psychological distress cannot be reduced to a rubric. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5®. The handbook brings these critical skills together in a well-written, accessible, and reader-friendly volume that is grounded in the latest research and standard of practice. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room, including: * A six-step framework for diagnosing patients that proceeds from determining if the symptom is real to establishing the boundary between disorder and normality, with intermediary steps to rule out substance etiology and medical conditions, as well as to determine the primary disorder and to differentiate adjustment disorders from other mental disorders.* Twenty-nine symptom-oriented decision trees that provide detailed decision points to facilitate the process of generating the differential diagnosis based on the presenting symptoms and eliminate formulating premature conclusions.* Sixty-six differential diagnosis tables, one for each of the most important DSM-5® disorders, cross-referenced with the terminal branches of the decision trees presented in the handbook to provide a head-to-head comparison of each disorder, highlighting similarities and differences.* The DSM-5® classification, to facilitate coding and to provide an overview of all of the DSM-5® diagnoses that must be considered in formulating a differential diagnosis.* Alphabetical indexes of the decision trees and differential diagnosis tables to help readers readily locate desired material. DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing DSM-5® disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the differential diagnosis of individual patients. The handbook is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5® collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession.
Dulcan's Textbook Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by 
Integrated Care in Psychiatry by
Integrated Care in Psychiatry: Redefining the Role of Mental Health Professionals in the Medical Setting is a landmark title in the field, offering a clear, detailed, and cohesive call by leading experts for coordinated care for patients with concurrent psychiatric and medical conditions. The renowned editors and authors argue that what is slowly occurring, and greatly needed at a faster pace, is nothing less than a sea change in the way that psychiatric care will be delivered. The current, mostly segregated, medical and psychiatric model of care has led to the development of competing medical and psychiatric subcultures that have resulted in a lack of dialog among health providers, administrators, and payers - and thus in less than optimal patient outcomes. To remedy this problem, the book offers a practical, insightful road map to achieving the central tenet of health reform - truly coordinated, patient-centered care where the care experience for the patient, the medical care itself, and the cost outcomes improve as the system changes from fee-for-service to population-based health. An invaluable reference for all clinicians, policy makers, payers, administrators, and others interested in the debate surrounding healthcare systems, Integrated Care in Psychiatry: Redefining the Role of Mental Health Professionals in the Medical Setting is a major contribution to the literature and a gold standard resource.
Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health by
Long considered important for professionals working with minority and under-represented populations, cross-cultural competency has become a requisite for all health care providers. As society in the US increasingly diversifies, there is a crucial need to prepare health care professionals to effectively treat this changing population. The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health addresses the importance and relevance of cultural sensitivity in US mental health. Prominent researchers and clinicians examine the cultural and cross-cultural mental health issues of Native American, Latino, Asian, African American, Middle Eastern, Refugee and LGBQT communities. The discussion includes understanding the complexities in making mental health diagnoses and the various meanings it has for the socio-cultural group described, as well as biopsychosocial treatment options and challenges. In understanding the specific populations, the analysis delves into overarching concepts that may apply to specific populations and to those at the intersection of multiple cultures. An invaluable resource for mental health professionals, including clinicians, researchers, educators, leaders and advocates in the United States, The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health provides the necessary understanding and insights for research and clinical practice in specific cultural and multicultural groups.
MRI in Psychiatry by
This is the first comprehensive textbook on the use of MRI in psychiatry covering imaging techniques, brain systems and a review of findings in different psychiatric disorders. The book is divided into three sections, the first of which covers in detail all the major MRI-based methodological approaches available today, including fMRI, EEG-fMRI, DTI and MR spectroscopy. In addition, the role of MRI in imaging genetics and combined brain stimulation and imaging is carefully explained. The second section provides an overview of the different brain systems that are relevant for psychiatric disorders, including the systems for perception, emotion, cognition and reward. The final part of the book presents the MRI findings that are obtained in all the major psychiatric disorders using the previously discussed techniques. Numerous carefully chosen images support the informative text, making this an ideal reference work for all practitioners and trainees with an interest in this flourishing field.
Synopsis of Psychiatry by