Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Public Administration

Handbooks

How Canadians Govern Themselves
expanded, web version of Senator Forsey's classic guide. 
 
alternate archive
US1 GS25 U57 (Latest at REF-Government Documents)
This manual is the classic historical and official source for general information about the U.S. government.
 
Oxford Handbooks
includes Oxford Handbook of Classics in Public Policy and Administration, The Oxford Handbook of Civil Society,  Oxford Handbook of Global Health Politics, Oxford Handbook of Global Policy and Transnational Administration, Oxford Handbook of Public Accountability
 
Critical reviews of current research and historical context covering a range of disciplines including economics, environment and political science and policy. 
 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary
REF KF153 .B53 2009 (Lederman Law Library)
 
Dictionary of Trade Policy Terms
REF HF1373 .G66 2003
 
Encyclopedia of Governance
REF JC11 .B475 2007
 
International Dictionary of Public Management and Governance
REF JA61 .B48 2006
 
International Encyclopedia of Social Policy
REF HN18.3 .I58 2006
 
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
(via Oxford Reference Online)
 
in print:  REF HB61.N49 1987 t (4 vols) 
 
Robert & Collins du management: French-English, English-French Dictionary
REF HD30.15 .R63 1992t
 

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Yearbooks provide information (facts, summaries, statistics, etc), relating to the previous year. Yearbooks can deal either with a particular region or country, a number of countries, or a particular subject.
 
Almanacs are similar to yearbooks, in that they may be published annually. Their arrangement is often ad hoc and use of the index is essential.
They may include chronologies of events, miscellaneous facts and figures, tables, charts, calendars etc.
 
 
Canada Year Book (to 2012)
 
Canada Year Book Historical Collection (1867-1967)
CA1 BS11 C402 (1980-current; 2002-2005 not published) (Documents)
CA1 BS11 C202 (1867-1979) (Documents)
Social and economic life of Canada and its citizens.
 
Canadian Almanac and Directory
F5008.1 C3 from 1857- ( Latest at REF)
 
Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs (1961-2003; missing 1983, 1989, 2002)
online via Scholar's Portal  or Canada Commons (Canadian Electronic Library/desLibris)
REF F5003.C33 (1960-2004[2010])
From 1960 to 1970, this review was named Canadian Annual Review. It provides a survey of the major political, economic and social events of the year in Canada.
 
Yearbook of International Organizations
JX1904.A42
Latest volume in Reference, with irregular holdings going back to 1949.
 
Yearbook of the United Nations 1946-
in print UN4 OPI Y27 (Government Documents)