Research Guides: RELS-886: Religion & Technology: Discipline-Specific Databases

Recommended Journals

Zygon: Journal of Religion & Science focuses on the questions of meaning and values that challenge individual and social existence today.

Dialog: a journal of theology publishes quality scholarship investigating the intersections between contemporary social issues and the mission of the Lutheran church. The journal addresses the frontiers of theological discussion, using contemporary as well as classical scriptural, confessional, and catholic resources.

Theology and Science explores the interaction between the natural sciences and theology and/or debates arising in the broader fields of science and religion.

Librarian

Gillian Akenson

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Joseph S. Stauffer Library, Rm 105-A
(I am in the office but can also meet virtually via Teams or Zoom.)

(613) 533-6000 ext 74526

Subjects: Employment Relations, Industrial Relations, Jewish Studies, Political Studies, Psychology, Religious Studies

Next Steps

After you have completed a bit of background reading through Omni, Google, a course text or a handbook or encyclopedia (see Oxford Handbooks Online's Religion collection as an example), the next step is to search for articles in a scholarly, discipline-specific database. ATLA is the premier index for religious studies content so it is strongly recommended, but to be comprehensive it would be beneficial to also search one of the databases listed below.

ATLA Religion Database
Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), covers topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Indexes journal articles, essays, conferences, congresses and book reviews (including reviews from the New York Review of Books and the Times Literary Supplement).
more...less...
An excellent Advanced Searching on EbscoHost tutorial is at: https://youtu.be/DjKNxqiuwpY.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database which provides indexing (with abstracts) to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.

Google Scholar
Free access

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
Should you encounter a captcha problem, you can still search QUL resources by going to https://scholar.google.com following the instructions here.

Scholars Portal Journals
Not exclusively a religious studies database, the volume of interdisciplinary, full-text articles from over 13,000 scholarly journals, from a number of scholarly publishers, such as Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Oxford University Press, Wiley-Blackwell, Sage Publications, SpringerLINK, Taylor and Francis, and more give this collection merit.