Trumpet music
Solo trumpet (or cornet)
M85 - M89 (including transcriptions)
Trumpet and piano
M260 - M261
Trumpet duets
M288 - M289
Trumpet (or cornet) with orchestra
M1030 - M1031 (full score - piano reduction)
Trumpet (or cornet) with string orchestra
M1130 - M1131 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .T8 (Trumpet)
ML128. B73 (Brass instruments)
M1028. W5 (Wind instruments)
History/construction of the Trumpet
ML960 - ML963
Techniques: studies and methods (Trumpet family)
MT440 - MT448, MT452, MT456
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
Also sprach Arnold Jacobs : a developmental guide for brass wind musicians by
In addition to being an outstanding musician, Arnold Jacobs undoubtedly was the most influential brass teacher of the second half of the twentieth century. Countless brass (and other) musicians from all over the world traveled to Chicago to study with this master. Additionally, Mr. Jacobs also gave master classes that were popular with students, teachers and professionals in many different locations. Even if it were all known, it would be impossible to reduce to writing all of the advice Arnold Jacobs gave to thousands of students over a period of almost 70 years. Nevertheless, this book is an attempt to preserve in writing, by topic, the common ideas and variations of those ideas from which so many musicians have benefited. Bruce Nelson´s book comes in six chapters. Each chapter deals with one central aspect of brass playing
The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments by
This Companion covers many diverse aspects of brass instruments and in such detail. It provides an overview of the history of brass instruments, and their technical and musical development. Although the greatest part of the volume is devoted to the western art music tradition, with chapters covering topics from the medieval to the contemporary periods, there are important contributions on the ancient world, non-western music, vernacular and popular traditions and the rise of jazz. Despite the breadth of its narrative, the book is rich in detail, with an extensive glossary and bibliography. The editors are two of the most respected names in the world of brass performance and scholarship, and the list of contributors includes the names of many of the world's most prestigious scholars and performers on brass instruments.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
A Complete Guide to Brass Instruments and Techniques by
This authoritative guide provides all the pedagogical, historical, and technical material necessary for the successful instruction of brass. Chapters discuss the historical development of individual brass instruments and focus on technique, including guidance for teachers and a complete method for brass playing. Individual instrument chapters include lists of recommended study material and reference sources.
Horns and Trumpets of the World by
Humanity has blown horns and trumpets of various makes and models, lengths and diameters since prehistoric times. In Horns and Trumpets of the World, the eminent scholar Jeremy Montagu surveys the vast range in time and type of this instrument that has accompanied everything in human history from the war cry to the formal symphony, from the hunting call to the modern jazz performance. No work on this topic offers as much detail or so many illustrations--over 150, in fact--of this remarkable instrument. Montagu's examination starts with horns constructed from such unusual materials as seaweed, cane, and bamboo, and continues the journey of exploration through those of shell, wood, ivory, and metal. The chronological scope of Horns and Trumpets of the World is equally vast: it looks at instruments of the Bible and from the Bronze and Iron Ages respectively before diving headlong into those from the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, and Classical periods, and, following the Industrial Revolution, those that have appeared in the modern era. Drawing on the many instruments from the author's own extensive collection, Montagu offers details, including measurements, at levels rarely seen in other surveys of this world of instrumentation. Horns and Trumpet of the World should appeal to not only scholars and collectors, but professional brass players and manufacturers, as well as museums and institutions with a vested interest in our musical heritage.
The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet Before 1721 by
This new edition of the definitive work on the history of the baroque trumpet in the 17th and early 18th centuries includes the latest material in the field plus hitherto unpublished sources of trumpet iconography. Smithers surveys the related types of trumpets used from the period of Monteverdi through the era of Bach and Handel. He examines the repertory of trumpet music available before the appearance of Bach s Second Brandenburg Concerto in F Major and provides a detailed analysis of the working conditions of trumpet players in various European countries during this period. The choice of 1721 in this first study of the music, history, and manufacture of the trumpet as it existed before the Industrial Revolution was neither accidental nor arbitrary. The earliest and only dated source of J. S. Bach s singular Second Brandenburg Concerto in F Major is both a musical and a chronological boundary between two quite different periods in the trumpet s long history. Richly annotated, this work features supplementary appendixes describing surviving sources of music composed originally for the nonmechanical baroque trumpet as well as current scholarship of note. This edition has twice as many photographs as the original printing, many reproduced for the first time."
Teaching Brass by
This unique combination of exercises, instruction, and reference material helps music education students learn to play and teach brass instruments, and is a resource students can use after they move into their teaching careers. Written by five brass players, Teaching Brass addresses the problems of learning and teaching the five principle brass instruments from the viewpoint of an expert teacher on each specific instrument.
The Trumpet by
In the first major book devoted to the trumpet in more than two decades, John Wallace and Alexander McGrattan trace the surprising evolution and colorful performance history of one of the world's oldest instruments. They chart the introduction of the trumpet and its family into art music, and its rise to prominence as a solo instrument, from the Baroque "golden age," through the advent of valved brass instruments in the nineteenth century, and the trumpet's renaissance in the jazz age. The authors offer abundant insights into the trumpet's repertoire, with detailed analyses of works by Haydn, Handel, and Bach, and fresh material on the importance of jazz and influential jazz trumpeters for the reemergence of the trumpet as a solo instrument in classical music today. Wallace and McGrattan draw on deep research, lifetimes of experience in performing and teaching the trumpet in its various forms, and numerous interviews to illuminate the trumpet's history, music, and players. Copiously illustrated with photographs, facsimiles, and music examples throughout, The Trumpet will enlighten and fascinate all performers and enthusiasts.
The Trumpet and Trombone by 
Trumpet Technique by
In the last forty years, many elite performers in the arts have gleaned valuable lessons and techniques from research and advances in sport science, psychomotor research, learning theory, and psychology. Numerous "peak performance" books have made these tools and insights available to athletes. Now, professor and performer Frank Gabriel Campos has translated this concept for trumpet players and other brass and wind instrumentalists, creating an accessible and comprehensive guide to performance skill. Trumpet Technique combines the newest research on skill acquisition and peak performance with the time-honored and proven techniques of master teachers and performers. All aspects of brass technique are discussed in detail, including the breath, embouchure, oral cavity, tongue, jaw, and proper body use, as well as information on performance psychology, practice techniques, musicians' occupational injuries, and much more. Comprehensive and detailed, Trumpet Technique is an invaluable resource for performers, teachers, and students at all levels seeking to move to the highest level of skill with their instrument.
Valved Brass by
In the history of brass instruments, few developments can rival the early nineteenth-century invention of the valve for enduring significance. Nevertheless, the acceptance of valved brass instruments proved controversial, as newspapers and other documents repeatedly attest. Christian Ahrens, (Ruhr-Universit#65533;t Bochum) in his important monograph, Eine Erfindung und ihre Folgen: Blechblasinstrumente mit Ventilen (1986), devotes considerable attention to this heated controversy, as he traces the early use of valved brass instruments in the realms of art music, military music, and Volksmusik. Stressing social and aesthetic issues over the more familiar mechanical aspects, the author draws on a rich body of journalistic source material to detail a compelling reception history.
The World of Jazz Trumpet by
An examination of the political, social, and musical conditions that led to the creation of jazz as America's premier art form.
