Tuba music
Solo tuba
M95 - M99 (including transcriptions)
Tuba and piano
M264 - M265
Tuba duets
M288 - M289
Tuba with orchestra
M1034.T8 - M1035.T8 (full score - piano reduction)
Tuba with string orchestra
M1134.T8 - M1135.T8 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .T8 (Tuba)
ML128. B73 (Brass instruments)
M1028. W5 (Wind instruments)
History/construction of the Tuba, Baritone
ML970 - ML973
Techniques: studies and methods (Tuba)
MT480 - MT488
Euphonium music
Solo baritone or euphonium
M110.B33 (including transcriptions)
Baritone or euphonium and piano
M270.B37
Baritone, euphonium with orchestra
M1034.B37 - M1035.B37 (full score - piano reduction)
Baritone, euphonium with string orchestra
M1134.B37 - M1135.B37 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .B24 (Baritone, Euphonium)
ML128. B73 (Brass instruments)
M1028. W5 (Wind instruments)
History/construction of the Baritone, Euphonium
ML970 - ML973
Techniques: studies and methods (Baritone, Euphonium)
MT496 - MT496.9
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
Also sprach Arnold Jacobs: a developmental guide for brass wind instruments by
In addition to being an outstanding musician, Arnold Jacobs undoubtedly was the most influential brass teacher of the second half of the twentieth century. Countless brass (and other) musicians from all over the world traveled to Chicago to study with this master. Additionally, Mr. Jacobs also gave master classes that were popular with students, teachers and professionals in many different locations. Even if it were all known, it would be impossible to reduce to writing all of the advice Arnold Jacobs gave to thousands of students over a period of almost 70 years. Nevertheless, this book is an attempt to preserve in writing, by topic, the common ideas and variations of those ideas from which so many musicians have benefited. Bruce Nelson´s book comes in six chapters. Each chapter deals with one central aspect of brass playing.
The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments by
This Companion covers many diverse aspects of brass instruments and in such detail. It provides an overview of the history of brass instruments, and their technical and musical development. Although the greatest part of the volume is devoted to the western art music tradition, with chapters covering topics from the medieval to the contemporary periods, there are important contributions on the ancient world, non-western music, vernacular and popular traditions and the rise of jazz. Despite the breadth of its narrative, the book is rich in detail, with an extensive glossary and bibliography. The editors are two of the most respected names in the world of brass performance and scholarship, and the list of contributors includes the names of many of the world's most prestigious scholars and performers on brass instruments.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
A Complete Guide to Brass Instruments and Techniques by
This authoritative guide provides all the pedagogical, historical, and technical material necessary for the successful instruction of brass. Chapters discuss the historical development of individual brass instruments and focus on technique, including guidance for teachers and a complete method for brass playing. Individual instrument chapters include lists of recommended study material and reference sources.
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire by
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire is the most definitive publication on the status of the euphonium in the history of this often misunderstood and frequently under-appreciated instrument. This volume documents the rich history, the wealth of repertoire, and the incredible discography of the euphonium. Music educators, composers/arrangers, instrument historians, performers on other instruments, and students of the euphonium (baritone horn, tenor tuba, etc.) will find the exhaustive research evident in this volume's pages to be compelling and comprehensive. Contributors are Lloyd Bone, Brian L. Bowman, Neal Corwell, Adam Frey, Marc Dickman, Bryce Edwards, Seth D. Fletcher, Carroll Gotcher, Atticus Hensley, Lisa M. Hocking, Sharon Huff, Kenneth R. Kroesche, R. Winston Morris, John Mueller, Michael B. O'Connor, Eric Paull, Joseph Skillen, Kelly Thomas, Demondrae Thurman, Matthew J. Tropman, and Mark J. Walker.
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire by
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835. Contributors are Ron Davis, Jeffrey Funderburk, David Graves, Skip Gray, Charles A. McAdams, R. Winston Morris, Mark A. Nelson, Timothy J. Northcut, Daniel Perantoni, Philip Sinder, Joseph Skillen, Kenyon Wilson, and Jerry A. Young.
Teaching Brass by
This unique combination of exercises, instruction, and reference material helps music education students learn to play and teach brass instruments, and is a resource students can use after they move into their teaching careers. Written by five brass players, Teaching Brass addresses the problems of learning and teaching the five principle brass instruments from the viewpoint of an expert teacher on each specific instrument.
Valved Brass by
In the history of brass instruments, few developments can rival the early nineteenth-century invention of the valve for enduring significance. Nevertheless, the acceptance of valved brass instruments proved controversial, as newspapers and other documents repeatedly attest. Christian Ahrens, (Ruhr-Universit#65533;t Bochum) in his important monograph, Eine Erfindung und ihre Folgen: Blechblasinstrumente mit Ventilen (1986), devotes considerable attention to this heated controversy, as he traces the early use of valved brass instruments in the realms of art music, military music, and Volksmusik. Stressing social and aesthetic issues over the more familiar mechanical aspects, the author draws on a rich body of journalistic source material to detail a compelling reception history.
