Skip to main content

Book Reviews

Multidisciplinary Indexes

Covers journals with radical points of view. Print holdings begin in 1969.
 
Book Review Digest
REF Z1219 .B7 (1905-2005)
 
Book Review Index
REF Z1035 .A1 B6 (1965-2011)
Selects reviews from a much broader range of general periodicals than Book Review Digest, but BRI only cites reviews and does not include review excerpts.
 
Provides access to full-text book reviews from scholarly and general magazines, as well as book review sections from major newspapers from 1981 onwards.
Tip: Type the author's last name and the title of the book and the word "review".
 
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774
REF Z1035.A1F67 1990
 
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800
REF Z1035.A1F675 1997t
 
Provides full-text book reviews from newspapers and magazines.
 
Microfilm holdings: 1983-88
 
Search the magazine's content from 1963 to present.
 
Full text of all reviews published since 1996 in the Sunday book reviews.
 
REF AI21 .N5 from 1851- (Index Shelves)
Citations to book reviews are listed under Book Reviews alphabetically by title; they can also be found under the author of the book reviewed. Full-text reviews also available online through Lexis Nexis and Factiva from 1980 onwards.
 
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) 2 vols.
Citations to book reviews are listed under the author's last name, then by title of book. See Readers' Guide for more recent reviews.
 
Indexes popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from 19th century and early 20th century.
 
Readers' Guide
REF and SL Compact  AI3.R2 from 1900-2006 (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
 
Microfilm AN4.L6T56 (1785- excluding latest 2-3 months)
 
Print and Microfilm  from 1902-present
 
Indexes 45 major 19th century British monthlies and quarterlies.