Skip to Main Content

Book Reviews

Humanities Indexes

For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective
Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check Omni for details.
To find citations to book reviews in art journals, type words from the title, followed by and book review or limit search to Document Type - Book Review.In the print edition, look at the last section of each volume.
 
To limit your search to book reviews, click Editions and select desired index, e.g. AHCI.  Click on Add Row. Click on All Fields and then choose Document Type from the drop down menu. Type Book Review in the search box or select from the drop down list..
 
To find citations to book reviews in religious journals, type words from the title, followed by and review. Or, limit your results to Publication Type - by choosing Review from the drop-down menu.
 
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (1961-2009)
AI3.C3 Compact Shelving
Indexes the "currently significant Catholic periodicals". Includes a separate book review section.
 
Contemporary Literary Criticism (in Literature Resource Center)
REF PN771.C59 from 1973-2010
Selected excerpts (including complete citations) from critical writings about contemporary literary and scholarly authors. A companion publication, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, covers authors who lived from 1900-1960. For criticism of literary works before 1900, check the Gale Literary Criticism Series found in Reference.
 
"Maintained by Michigan State University, this site provides book reviews of academic books. Reviews are written by members of the academic community."
 
Reviews new books on historical topics. Covers all geographical areas and time periods.
 
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
REF Z1035.A1I38 (1961-1990) 
Citations to reviews are listed alphabetically by author and include a number for the journal title. This number must be checked at the front of each index to get the journal title. From 1960-71, indexing was selective. From 1971, all reviews from indexed journals (about 700) are printed.
 
JSTOR
Reviews of humanities publications. Limit your search to "reviews" by ticking the option under the search box
 
Literature Resource Center
This database searches across multiple reference sources and journals related to literature, including literature for youth from the 19th century to the present. Includes full text of reviews, author biographies, and much more. Search tips: You can limit a search to “reviews & news,” “literature criticism,” and/or other kinds of information.
 
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals
REF Z2013.W36
Three volumes cover 1789 - 1820 and are a checklist of reviews.
 
ML118.M98 (1949-1996) Music REF
IUScholarWorks Repository. Publishes reviews of current books (back to 1993) in medieval studies.
 

Music Index Online

Under Document Type, choose book review.
 
Under Document Type, choose Book-Review or type the title of the book (or words from the title and/or author), followed by and book reviews.
 
Coverage varies by title, beginning no earlier than 1993. To find book reviews, choose Advanced Search and then "Reviews" under Content Type. .
 
A good source for reviews of books in music. To find reviews, type words from the title and then under Document type, select "Review of book".