Maltby Centre Resources

Autism in the Ontario Context: An Introduction (2nd edition) by Kymberly Maich, Carmen Hall and Brianna M. Anderson Accessible and engaging, Autism in the Ontario Context, Second Edition provides students with a thorough introduction to the history of autism in the province of Ontario as well as the contemporary understandings, strategies, and best practices that influence effective interventions. Drawing on evidence-based practice and interventions, Kimberly Maich, Brianna M. Anderson, and Carmen Hall provide concrete examples of localized research and practice within clinical, educational, and community-based settings that will enhance student knowledge and understanding as well as underscore skill development. This introductory text features detailed examinations of autistic experiences across the lifespan and incorporates an extensive range of pedagogical tools, which will encourage reflection and deepen understanding. This revised edition includes updates made based on terminology changes and shifts in diagnostic criteria including those that reflect the DSM-5-TR, as well as Ontario programs, services, and funding. It highlights current legislation and government programs, including the updated Ontario Autism Program. Finally, it includes latest research in evidence-based interventions, new and updated feature boxes, and up-to-date resources

Learning For All: A Guide to Effective Assessment and Instruction for All Students, Kindergarten to Grade 12 by Ontario Ministry of Education Learning for All, K - 12 (2013) is a resource guide that builds on the guiding principles outlined in Education for All: The Report of the Expert Panel on Literacy and Numeracy Instruction for Students With Special Education Needs, Kindergarten to Grade 6 (2005). This resource is designed to share information with educators about evidence-based and research-informed educational approaches including Assessment for Learning, Universal Design for Learning, Differentiated Instruction, and the Tiered Approach. It describes an integrated process of assessment and instruction and presents planning tools (class and student profiles) that support the learning of all students from Kindergarten to Grade 12."-- Ontario, Ministry of Education website. "Learning for all, kindergarten to grade 12" is a resource guide outlining an integrated process of assessment and instruction for elementary and secondary school educators across Ontario that is designed to help raise the bar and close the gap in achievement for all students. The guide supports the three core priorities for education in Ontario: High levels of student achievement - Reduced gaps in student achievement - Increased public confidence in publicly funded education

Effective Educational Practices for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Resource Guide by Ontario Ministry of Education

Inclusion of Exceptional Learners in Canadian Schools: A Practical Handbook for Teachers by Nancy Lynn Hutchinson Preparing the fifth edition of Inclusion of Exceptional Learners in Canadian Schools has taught me many things. Some things I learned by doing background research in areas with which I was less familiar. Other things I learned through discussions with colleagues, graduate students, parents, teacher candidates, and individuals with exceptionalities. In particular, I have learned by challenging my assumptions about teaching exceptional children and adolescents. I believe that when we accept the challenges of teaching exceptional students in inclusive settings, we must be prepared to challenge assumptions about what exceptional students can and cannot do and to find new ways to help them reach their potential. Therefore, I hope this book helps you to challenge your assumptions and to reflect critically on what it means to include exceptional students in the classroom

Inclusion of Learners with Exceptionalities in Canadian Schools: A Practical Handbook for Teachers by Nancy Lynn Hutchinson & Jacqueline Specht This edition has been updated to include new, cutting-edge information. Chapters 1, 8, and 9 are excellent resources for using universal design for learning (UDL) and differentiated instruction (DI) and assessment to make classrooms welcoming and efficient for all learners. Chapters 3, 4, and 5 provide an extensive discussion of the spectrum of exceptionalities which many students experience. This discussion looks at chronic illnesses, emotional exceptionalities, and mental health issues. Chapter 4 includes an extensive discussion of intellectual disabilities, providing in-depth information on mild and severe intellectual disabilities and autism spectrum disorder (ASD), providing teachers with accurate descriptions of the students' needs, and tips for ways in which they can be successfully integrated into classrooms settings. An added section on Functional Behavioural Assessment for teachers will assist teachers in understanding the function of behaviour. Chapter 6 includes an extended section on education of Indigenous students and about teaching for reconciliation in addition to a discussion of environmental exceptionalities such as poverty, homelessness, and maltreatment. Chapter 11 focuses on transitions, one of the most challenging aspects of inclusive education. Throughout, there is a focus on creating safe, functional environments to discourage bullying. NEW TEDx Talks and other video presentations are identified that are related to the main idea of the chapter. Each short video is accompanied by a few questions to think about in relation to the content. Throughout, there is a focus on well-being of students and teachers; every chapter includes one or two annotated bibliographies on school-based mental health resources relevant to the topics in the chapter

Inclusive Classrooms in Ontario Schools by Nancy Lynn Hutchinson & Andrea Martin

Special Education in Canada by Alan Edmunds and Gail Edmunds At the time of publication, Alan Edmunds was an associate professor in the Faculty of Education at Western University. The late Gail Edmunds was a research coordinator at the Centre for Inclusive Education at Western University. Includes bibliographical references (pages 407-417) and index. This insightful introduction to teaching students with exceptionalities uses real-life case studies to illustrate the educational realities faced by students with special needs, as well as their teachers and families. Compelling and inspirational, Special Education in Canada will help teachers understand diverse learning requirements in their classrooms and encourage students with exceptionalities to reach their full potential

Teaching Exceptional Children and Adolescents by Nancy L. Hutchinson Appropriate for courses in Teaching Educational Learners, The Psychology of Exceptional Children, Mainstreaming, Inclusion, and Inclusive Education at colleges and universities. Teaching Exceptional Children and Adolescents: A Canadian Casebook, Second Edition, brings to teacher education challenging dilemmas based on the experiences of beginning and experienced teachers in Canadian classrooms. Twenty-two cases focus on teaching exceptional learners in inclusive classrooms in elementary and secondary schools. These Dilemma cases pose challenging, realistic situations without obvious right answers. Teacher candidates are stimulated to think like teachers. For candidates without practicum experience, case discussions serve as preparation to meet these challenges in a classroom. Issues of equity, cultural diversity, and child abuse arise in some cases.

The Autism Lens by Kara Dymond Key Selling Points > Memorable, funny, insightful anecdotes help readers to relate to students with autism. The author has both personal and professional experience with autism. Kara Dymond mentors teachers to confidently support children with autism in their classrooms. The author has researched the professional development needs of teachers and what they really want to know about autism. This book is full of practical suggestions, from real classrooms, to meet the needs of students with autism in general classrooms.