Aging: Concepts and Controversies by
Presenting current research in an innovative text-reader format, Aging: Concepts and Controversies, Ninth Edition encourages students to become involved and take an informed stand on the major aging issues we face as a society. Not simply a summary of research literature, this text focuses on controversies and questions, rather than on assimilating facts or arriving at a single "correct" view about aging and older people. Drawing on their extensive expertise, the authors first provide an overview of aging in three domains: aging over the life course, health care, and the socioeconomic aspects of aging. Each section is followed by a series of edited readings, offering different perspectives from experts and specialists on that subject.
Aging and Society: Canadian Perspectives by Aging as a Social Process by Aging in the Global South by
This book is a collection of work on aging and development from authors from the global south. Aging is steadily evolving as a public health and social crisis for which countries of the global south are ill-prepared. The forces of development and improved public health services have ensured that human being live longer. But there is enough evidence that such longevity do not commensurate with good health. As such, many countries of the global south are seeing a booming population who are aging in poor health, without the necessary safety net to ensure quality of life. This book discusses work from Asia, Africa, and South America to explore the challenges facing older adults. Topics include: aging in institutions, living arrangements of older adults, food insecurity, social isolation, end of life migration, and policy papers. This is the first book to bring together varied perspectives on the situation of older adults, and the challenges and opportunities that lie in developing innovative, sustainable programs to support elderly care services.
The Cambridge Handbook of Successful Aging by
Recent studies show that more people than ever before are reaching old age in better health and enjoying that health for a longer time. This Handbook outlines the latest discoveries in the study of aging from bio-medicine, psychology, and socio-demography. It treats the study of aging as a multidisciplinary scientific subject, since it requires the interplay of broad disciplines, while offering high motivation, positive attitudes, and behaviors for aging well, and lifestyle changes that will help people to stay healthier across life span and in old age. Written by leading scholars from various academic disciplines, the chapters delve into the most topical aspects of aging today - including biological mechanisms of aging, aging with health, active and productive aging, aging with satisfaction, aging with respect, and aging with dignity. Aimed at health professionals as well as general readers, this Cambridge Handbook offers a new, positive approach to later life.
The Four Lenses of Population Aging : Planning for the Future in Canada’s Provinces by Gerontology: the Basics by
Human aging is a complex, multi-faceted experience that unfolds over an entire lifetime. While human aging is universal, it is also wildly variable, shaped by individual, social, cultural, political, geographic and historical contexts. Gerontology: The basics explores the field of research, education and practice which takes on the complex and multi-faceted questions, issues and problems of adult aging and old age. Intended for anyone interested in understanding the origins of gerontology and its unique purview, we invite the reader to join us in a critical examination of what we think we know about becoming and being old and, perhaps, be inspired to engage more deeply in their own travels through the life-course.
Global Aging by
Written by leading scholars, this esteemed text on global aging is distinguished by its unique perspective on universal similarities and sociocultural differences across nations. Fully revised, updated, and reorganized, the second edition presents-comprehensive coverage of major topics in social gerontology, expands its treatment of health behavior, health care, families, caregiving, older workers, and retirement. It delivers new information on living environments, religious beliefs and practices; environmental threats; cross-cultural views of dementia; ageism in advertising; age-friendly communities; global immigration and cultural assimilation, and end-of-life caregiving, to name a few.The second edition also offers additional case studies, first-person narratives and focused essays to enhance core material and a greater number of non-Western contributors. The topical essays reflect changing mores and current issues affecting societies and the aging experience. Discussion questions conclude each chapter, and an Instructor's Manual and Power Point slides are available to instructors. Print version of the book includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents! New to the Second Edition: Expanded content on health beliefs and health behavior, religious belief and practice, environmental threats, housing and living environments, physical security, consumer control of health care, family life, and more Additional topics on global immigration and cultural assimilation, age portrayals in advertising, voluntarism, and the use of social media in caregiving. Abundant new and expanded essays New case studies and first-person narratives Many more non-western contributors Key Features: Delivers comprehensive coverage of major topics in gerontology Uses a unique comparative, cross-national perspective Authored by world-renowned aging scholars Includes case studies/essays/personal narratives to enliven core information Provides the most comprehensive demographic data on aging around the world
Handbook on Ageing with Disability by
Mainstream gerontological scholarship has taken little heed of people ageing with disability, and they have also been largely overlooked by both disability and ageing policies and service systems. The Handbook on Ageing with Disability is the first to pull together knowledge about the experience of ageing with disability. It provides a broad look at scholarship in this developing field and across different groups of people with disability in order to form a better understanding of commonalities across groups and identify unique facets of ageing within specific groups. Drawing from academic, personal, and clinical perspectives, the chapters address topics stemming from how the ageing with disability experience is framed, the heterogeneity of the population ageing with disability and the disability experience, issues of social exclusion, health and wellness, frailty, later life, and policy contexts for ageing with disability in various countries. Responding to the need to increase access to knowledge in this field, the Handbook provides guideposts for researchers, practitioners, and policy makers about what matters in providing services, developing programmes, and implementing policies that support persons ageing with long-term disabilities and their families.
A Hands-On Approach to Teaching about Aging by
Harnessing the proven benefits of active learning strategies, this is the first activity book created for a broad spectrum of courses in aging-related higher education. It features 32 classroom and community-based educational activities for instructors seeking to introduce or enhance aging content in their courses. Underscoring the interdisciplinary nature of aging studies, the book encompasses teaching strategies for instructors in such disciplines as counseling, family studies, gerontology, geriatrics, medicine, psychology, public administration, public health, nursing, social work, sociology, speech pathology, and others. This peer-reviewed collection of hands-on activities is designed by noted educators in aging and incorporates Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) competencies. It offers clear, step-by-step procedures for implementing each activity, including preparation, introduction, the activity itself, discussion/reflection, wrap-up or follow-up if appropriate, and assessment. The book also addresses learning outcomes and includes recommendations for number of participants, settings, materials, and time required. Encompassing key, impactful issues affecting older individuals, the text examines ageism and aging in the media, dementia, demography, health care, housing, physical aging, policy and politics of aging, positive interactions with older adults, and spirituality. In addition to the book's value to students, its activities are also beneficial to professionals instructing or participating in staff trainings, in-services, and continuing education. Key Features: Contains 32 experiential learning activities for students in a great variety of aging-related disciplinesDesigned for activities in the classroom, in the community, online, and take-homeProvides clear, step-by-step procedures for each activity from implementation through assessmentAddresses student learning outcomes and includes a glossaryIncorporates AGHE competenciesProvides worksheets and forms to be downloaded for printing or electronic completion
Multicultural Perspectives on Gender and Aging by
As people grow older, cultural issues arise. Recognizing how social influences guide and restrict people leads to a better understanding of one's self and helps people as they age. The Handbook of Research on Multicultural Perspectives on Gender and Aging provides emerging research on midlife issues, physical aspects of aging, and the emotional value in the context of the culture in which people are living. While highlighting topics such as elderly disabilities, quality of life, and gender dimensions, this publication explores self-esteem in older members of society. This book is an important resource for academicians, healthcare professionals, professionals, researchers, and students seeking current research on the social and cultural characteristics of growing old.
Neglected No More by
It took the coronavirus pandemic to open our eyes to the deplorable state of so many of the nation's long-term care homes: the inhumane conditions, overworked and underpaid staff, and lack of oversight. In this timely new book, esteemed health reporter Andre Picard reveals the full extent of the crisis in eldercare, and offers an urgently needed prescription to fix a broken system. When COVID-19 spread through seniors' residences across Canada, the impact was horrific. Along with widespread illness and a devastating death toll, the situation exposed a decades-old crisis: the shocking systemic neglect towards our elders. Called in to provide emergency care in some of the hardest-hit facilities in Ontario and Quebec, the military issued damning reports of what they encountered. And yet, the failings that were exposed - unappetizing meals, infrequent baths, overmedication, physical abuse and inadequate personal care - have persisted for years in these institutions. In Neglected No More,
A Public Health Strategy for Living, Aging and Dying Well in America by
With more people living longer lives, there is increased importance in the health care industry on improving services for the elderly. This comprehensive book gives an expert overview of the topics and challenges, along with imperative ethical and legal frameworks. The book also details existing programs and benefits in relation to a realistic portrayal of population needs. Other important issues are covered such as long-term palliative care and hospice, other vulnerable populations, elder abuse, public-private collaboration, evidence-based policy-making, and much more.
Research Design in Aging and Social Gerontology by
Research Design in Aging and Social Gerontology provides a review of methodological approaches and data-collection methods commonly used with older adults in real-life settings. It addresses the role of normative age-related sensory, cognitive, and functional changes, as well as the influence of generational cohort (age-period-cohort) upon each design. It discusses the role of older adults as true co-researchers; issues uniquely related to studies of persons residing in community-based, assisted, skilled, and memory-care settings; and ethical concerns related to cognitive status changes. The text concludes with detailed guidelines for improving existing data collection methods for older persons and selecting the best fitting methodologies for use in planning research on aging. Features of Research Design in Aging and Social Gerontology include: Descriptions and evaluations of a wide range of methodological approaches, and methods used to collect data about older persons (quantitative, qualitative, mixed, and emergent methods: photovoice, virtual environments, etc.) Ways to match research questions to selection of method without a preconceived methodological preference or dominance Real-world and applied examples along with cases from the gerontological literature "How to" sections about reading output/software reports and qualitative-analysis screenshots (from ATLAS.ti) and quantitative (SPSS) output and interpretation Pedagogical tools in every chapter such as text boxes, case studies, definitions of key terms, discussion questions, and references for further reading on chapter topics Glossary of key terms, complete sample research report, and an overview of past methodological research design work in gerontology Companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/Weil where instructors will find PowerPoint presentations, additional discussion questions, and a sample syllabus; and students will find flashcards based on glossary terms, a downloadable copy of the sample research report in the text, and links to data sets, related websites, further reading, and select gerontological journals This text is intended for upper-level undergraduates and masters students in aging and gerontology as well as students in human development, applied anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, and social-work settings. Health care professionals, social workers, and care managers who work with older adults will also find this text a valuable resource.