A standard is a "document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose." (ISO, 2013) A code is a collection of standards; for example, the Canadian National Building Code. Standards and codes that are incorporated into law are often referred to as regulations.
Organizations that develop standards are called standards developing organizations (SDOs) or standards setting organizations (SSOs). This includes organizations, committees, companies, governmental agencies and other groups. There are hundreds of thousands of standards and codes in force worldwide.
Standards apply to everything from Christmas trees to nuclear power stations and children's toys to medical scanners. Standards are why a smartphone made in South Korea will work on a North American cell phone network.
For more information on Standards, please visit our Standards and Codes LibGuide.
Queen's subscribes to several standards collections of interest to biomedical engineers. Make sure to also check Omni for standards published by other organizations.
*IMPORTANT: Downloaded PDF document must be opened using the desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat on a computer. The License for academic users, the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus. Please use online version.
Recommended Browser
Please use Internet Explorer to access the CSA database. Other browsers may work, but not consistently.
Database Speed
The database is very slow compared to other databases. When you open a PDF document, please wait until the document is fully loaded and opened.
If you are unable to locate a standard in one of our online collections or Omni, try the following search engines:
If you are still having difficulty, please contact us at engsci@queensu.ca
