Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.
Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.
America: History and Life
Covers the history of Canada and the United States from prehistoric times to the present. It indexes articles from 1,700 journals, selected books and dissertations.
Topic: Abolition of slavery in United states
Search: abolition and slaver and united states
To find out if Queen’s subscribes to the journal, click on Get It! @ Queen’s if the full text is not readily available.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective: 1907-1984
JSTOR
A digitized collection of articles from key periodicals (about 327 history titles are indexed as well as 19 African American Studies titles), excluding the most current 2 to 5 years of a title.
Google Scholar
Google's scholarly search engine. Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials including journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Enabling the Get it @ Queen's links
Off-campus: access Google Scholar through the Queen's Library link where you will have to enter your NetID and password
To enable the Get it at Queen's links off campus
Omni
Omni is the library search tool used to find items in Queen's Libraries and our partner libraries, as well to access articles and other electronic resources.
When should I search Omni?
When should I search specific databases?
Omni includes content from the various research databases to which QUL subscribes but not everything is included. If you are looking for information on a very specific topic, or a topic that is subject specific, it is recommended that you search databases that specialize in that subject area for more thorough results.
Omni is one part of a complete search.
Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to American history.
Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on 
.
If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in Omni for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title..
If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider
Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them.
Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.
Select the ‘journal title" option from the top menu. Type in the name of the journal and then press 
Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them.
Check the extent of our print holdings or the years covered online.