The encyclopedias and dictionaries listed below provide useful and quick background information on the Caribbean. Many of the resources also contain bibliographies and reading lists for further research.
To find additional resources, search Omni, the library catalogue by keyword using topical terms and adding either "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias". Or you can search by the country, region or topic (using Library of Congress subject headings) and add "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias" in the Subject field.
Example subject searches
caribbean area encyclopedias
caribbean dictionaries
caribbean biography dictionaries
caribbean literature encyclopedias
Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature (via Cambridge Histories Online)
REF PN841 .I74 2004
Access to various dictionaries which cover Caribbean history, culture, literature and sociology.
Print Resources
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
F1406 .C36 1992
Provides brief overviews of the physical environment, the economy, the people, history, politics, society and culture. Each section has a short bibliography which makes this a good place for introductory information.
The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre
REF PN2969 .C36 1994t
Dictionary of Contemporary Politics of Central America and the Caribbean
REF F2183 .G86 1991t
Access to various dictionaries which cover Caribbean history, culture, literature and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History and Culture
REF F1754 .E53 2003
Music in Latin America and the Caribbean: an Encyclopedic History
ML199 .M858 2004 (SL Music)
