Also see Primary Sources (Humanities and Social Sciences)
African Diaspora, 1860- Present
Primary source documents covering migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent, with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
Caribbean Histories Revealed (National Archives, UK)
Provides a history of the British Caribbean through government documents, photos, and maps dating as far back as the 17th century.
Caribbean Studies in Video
Provides streaming video access to the archives the Banyan Production company of Trinidad and Tobago, the first producer of original television in the Caribbean beginning in the 1970s. Material include interviews with writers and cultural figures, documentaries, and theater, music, and dance performances.
Covers the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to the 1800s.
The website provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean culture, historical, and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and print collections.
Collection of digital reproductions of nearly 150,000 titles and editions published in the UK and the Americas during the 18th century. Includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Part II: New Editions.
Provides full-text access to rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, including:
- Bermuda Gazette and Weekly Advertiser 1785
- Daily Advertiser (Jamaica) 1790
- Jamaica Mercury and Kingston Weekly Advertiser 1779-1780
- Kingston Journal (Jamaica) 1789
- Royal Gazette (Jamaica) 1780-1812
Collection of original documents focusing on Empire Studies, such as cultural contacts, literature, religion, race, class, imperialism and colonialism in continents that include North America, South America, Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Caribbean and Australasia.
A collection contains over 200 individual items, including speeches, letters, cartoons and graphics, interviews, and articles.
Full-text access to British parliamentary papers.
A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.
Full-text of The Times (of London).
Provides primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Subject Specific
Slavery
Slave Trade Book and Pamphlet Collection, 1680-1865
Stauffer Microfilm
HT857.S42 1985t
The collection includes addresses, essays, debates in the House of Commons, petitions against the government, accounts of trials, descriptions of living conditions and Thomas Clarkson's 1808
The History of the Rise, Progress, and Accomplishment of the Abolition of the African Slave-Trade by the British Parliament.
