This text provides readers expert interpretation on not only the past developments, but also the future directions in criminal law. This texts reflects significant caselaw and legislative developments.
Also available in print: KE8813 .M64 2016 LAW.
This text analyzes the consequences of assimilation policies, dishonoured treaty agreements, manipulative legislation, and systematic racism, arguing that the overrepresentation of Indigenous peoples in the Canadian criminal justice system is not an Indian problem but a colonial one.
Also available in print: KE8809 M35 2015 LAW (Reserve).
This book articulates the governing principles of criminal law, and features a clear and comprehensive analysis of every offense in the Criminal Code and the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act.
Also available in print: KE8809 G85 2021 LAW (Reserve).
This text strikes a balance between theory and practice while covering key subjects, including the Criminal Code, corporate liability in organizations, court jurisdiction, and appeals in Canada.
This text provides an interdisciplinary approach to the study of criminal law and combines commentary by the authors with excerpts from cases, government reports, and extensive secondary material, including newspaper reports and articles.
The aim of this text is to explore substantive principles and the trial context: the adversary system, how elements of crime are proved, principles of act and fault, legal justifications and excuses, and sentencing principles.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminal Justice by Valsamis Mitsilegas (Editor); Pedro Caeiro (Editor); Sabine Gless (Editor)The Elgar Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminal Justicestands apart as the most comprehensive global reference title in its field. Featuring the work of over 250 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the Encyclopedia presents an accessible and uniquely far-reaching set of entries on topics associated with crime and criminal justice. Within this flagship work, the incredible breadth and depth of the field is captured by a diverse and international range of contributors. The Encyclopedia is curated by a team of globally renowned scholars and is ambitious in its scope - comprising thematic, regional and comparative coverage. Entries give a concise summary of the accumulated knowledge on their topic, followed by a list of references to facilitate further study. Over 300 entries Entries organised alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by scholars and practitioners from around the world World class editorial team The Encyclopedia will be available online ahead of print, followed by a multi-volume print edition.