Skip to Main Content

DEVS 220: Introduction to Indigenous Studies (Online)

Selected Academic Journals

A journal is a scholarly publication made up of articles which focus on a specific discipline or subject area. If you are unsure which journal your topic would fall under and looking to perform a more general search, then Omni, the library's search tool, may provide a more effective starting point.  

The following is a selected list of scholarly journals where many of the articles are written by Indigenous authors. Queen's University subscribes to many more journals
 

AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
An internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published continuously online as well as in quarterly print issues. AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
One of the premier journals in Native American studies, this journal publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.

Canadian Journal of Native Studies
A highly recognized journal in the field publishing peer reviewed original research.

Canadian Journal of Native Education (1998-2013), 2014 to present available in print at Education Library

Published twice yearly by First Nations House of Learning at the University of British Columbia; and First Nations Graduate Education Program at the University of Alberta.

Canadian Journal of Environmental Education

Published once a year, the journal to further the study and practice of environmental education by providing a forum for researchers, scholars, practitioners, and post-secondary students. The articles and reviews contribute to Canadian thought and practice in environmental education and/or issues and practices of international importance to this field of study.

First Nations Perspectives

Published annually by the Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc. which provides education, administration, technology, language and culture services to First Nations schools in Manitoba.

Native Studies Review
Original scholarly research on issues from Aboriginal perspectives in contemporary & historical contexts.  Published by the University of Saskatchewan.

Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association
Participates in the process of framing, deploying, and otherwise critically challenging the local and global contours of Indigenous studies

International Indigenous Policy Journal
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world with the goals to promote evidence based policy making, to encourage quality research based on partnerships with Indigenous Peoples, to develop networks of policy researchers and policy makers, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous, to improve scholarship related to Indigenous issues, and, to spark debate on important policy issues facing Indigenous Peoples around the world.     Published at Western University.

The International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies
Disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies. Indigenous scholars from around the world share common experiences of colonization.

‚ÄčWicazo Sa Review
Provides inquiries into the aboriginal past and its relationship to the vital present. Its aim is to become an interdisciplinary instrument to assist indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits.

Databases

Databases are online collections of journals, magazines and newspapers, articles, e-Books, video, music, images, or other digital content. Omni can be a great database to get started for broad searches. For a more focused search, try some of the selected databases below.  The Library provides access to hundreds of research databases in many subject and discipline areas.

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), published by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, is a database of citations with abstracts and other pertinent data related to teaching and research in education, complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. Coverage includes: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.

JSTOR
JSTOR archival journal collections include thousands of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, social sciences, and many more subject areas.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
This resource is useful for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous peoples in North America.

IPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.  This initiative began in 2005 at the University of Saskatchewan as a resource for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community and currently links to nearly 50,000 items.

Starting Your Search on Omni

Omni is our academic search tool that enables you to search for books, journals, articles, videos and much more, all from one interface. 

If you want to do a more broad or general search (i.e. you are unsure of which specific journal or database you want to look through) then using the Omni search is a good place to start! 

The Omni search box is featured on the Queen's Library homepage

Further Resources

Indigenous Land Based Activism (UBC Library Guide) *Note: This resource has a mix of both scholarly and non-scholarly examples.