Skip to Main Content

Economics

Canada

 
Economic Accounts Statistics (Statistics Canada)
 
Statistics Canada Data (fomerly CANSIM)
Economic, demographic, and social data. Time series 
 
Stauffer REF HA745.H57 1983        Documents  REF CA1 BS11 C516
Statistics from 1867 to the mid-1970s
Note: the first edition (CA6 SRA 65H37) has series that were not included in the second edition. If in doubt, consult both editions.
 

Conference Board of Canada e-Data
Thousands of downloadable economic indicators via forecast and historical databases covering Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan CMAs, Industry Sectors and the U.S. Also Consumer and Business Confidence datasets.
Includes Canadian Forecast-5 yr, Provincial Forecast-5 yr, Index of Business Confidence, Index of Consumer Confidence, Provincial Forecast-20 yr, Canadian Forecast-20 yr, Metropolitan Forecast, Population and Household Formation Forecast, Territorial Forecast, Industrial Forecast, US Forecast, Leading Indicator of Industry Profitability, The Conference Board Consumer Confidence Index® (U.S)

 
Reports, presentations, webinars and data providing analysis of key Canadian economic, organizational performance, and public policy issues. Also economic forecasting, modelling, and analysis.

Includes Canadian Outlook, Provincial Outlook and Metropolitan Outlook: quarterly reports and data

 

International Trade Explorer (Statistics Canada)

Provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade with over 200 countries. Source Data is obtained from Statistics Canada and the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States

 
Data.gov 
U.S. Government's Open Data portal. Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, etc.
 

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
394,000 US and international time series from 79 sources and links to ALFRED and FRASER datasets. 

Historical Statistics of the United States annual statistical abstracts from Colonial period
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition Online
 
Includes mapping and data extraction tools for social, demographic, and economic statistics.
 
U.S. Department of Commerce Data Hub
includes links to the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA), International Trade Administration (ITA) and other departments and agencies

International

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enables comparisons between countries and regions.
 
 International Monetary Fund Data 
Includes International Financial Statistics (IFS) (1948-) and many global, regional and country specific macroeconomic and financial datasets.
IFS is standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. 


International Labour Organization – ILOSTAT
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA. Includes hours of work, unemployment, occupational injuries, wages, labor migration and more.


Jordà-Schularick-Taylor Macrohistory Database   http://www.macrohistory.net/data/
The database covers 17 advanced economies since 1870 on an annual basis. It comprises 45 real and nominal variables. Among these, there are time series that had been hitherto unavailable to researchers, among them financial variables such as bank credit to the non-financial private sector, mortgage lending and long-term returns on housing, equities, bonds and bills. STATA download


OECD Statistics

Via the OECD iLibrary. Statistics in a variety of formats.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Also see OECD Data  and make your own queries on large databases in their data warehouse, OECD.Stat

 

UNdata - United Nations Data

Formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB). UNdata draws on statistics from throughout the UN system, bringing them together using a common platform and interface and global statistical standards. It covers all countries and areas and selected series from more than 30 specialized international data sources. In most cases time series are available from 1970 or 1980.

 

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

Is the statistical branch of the United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO). It provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.

 

The World Bank Data Catalog

A listing of available World Bank data sources including databases, pre- formatted tables and reports. Data sets include World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, African Development Indicators and more.

World Bank Open Data     Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

 
Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007. The European Union or OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
 

See Also