Skip to main content

German Language & Literature

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search Omni using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
 
Brockhaus Enzyklopädie in dreissig Bänden (online version of 30 volume print set)
REF AE27. B922 2005 Bd 1-30
21st edition in 30 volumes
 
Die Deutsche Literatur. Biographisches und bibliographisches Lexikon
Bern: Lang, 1979- .
Z2232 .D48 1985
A comprehensive biographical and bibliographical lexicon covering literature from 1450 to the present. Each time period contains two "Abteilungen": A: Author Lexicon, containing biographical and critical essays and B: Research Literature Lexicon, containing the important secondary materials.
 
Deutsches woerterbuch
REF PF3625 .G8
A historical dictionary in 16 volumes.
 
(we also have a variety of Duden books in our Reference collection)
 
Encyclopedia of German Literature
REF PT91 .E53 2000 r v.1-2
"A substantial contribution to English encyclopedias of German literature, this authoritative two-volume set features in-depth treatment of the authors, works, topics, and influences of German literary studies. Arranged in A-to-Z format, the articles are both definitive and critical."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
 
Das Grosse Woerterbuch der deutschen Sprache in 6 Baenden
REF PF3625 .G75
A contemporary German dictionary in 6 volumes.
 
Historical Dictionary of German Cinema
REF PN1993.5 G3 R417 2008
Includes a list of the 100 most significant German films.
 
Online version of the comprehensive German language encyclopedia of world literature. Full-text.