Research Guides: History of Medicine: Research Indexes & Databases

Indexes

These indexes are essential for finding history of medicine articles not indexed in online databases.

Article Indexes

Bibliography of the History of Medicine
1964 - 1993; Shelved by title; Located in Bracken Library Reference (Lower Level)

Index Medicus
1879-2002; Shelved by title; Located in Bracken Library Reference (Lower Level)

Secondary Sources in the History of Canadian Medicine: A Bibliography
Call Number: ZWZ70 .DC2 R744s 2000; Located in Bracken Library
Also available as an eBook

Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Sciences
1980; Call Number: Z675 .M4 W448s; Located in Bracken Library Reference (Lower Level)

Databases

From clinical trials to historic art documents, online databases are the surest way to find primary and secondary information.

Research Databases

MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE database contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of Ovid MEDLINE is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, Ovid MEDLINE includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more.

The same content in Ovid MEDLINE can also be searched in PubMed.

Bracken Library Database Highlight: Ovid MEDLINE
Date Coverage: 1946 to Present
PubMed
PubMed is a free literature database that contains more than 38 million references to biomedical and life sciences literature. The primary component of PubMed is MEDLINE, which is produced by the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. and contains more than 31 million references from over 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. In addition to MEDLINE content, PubMed includes citations that are being processed for MEDLINE, citations that are out-of-scope from MEDLINE journals, "ahead of print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE journal, and more. Mobile access is available for PubMed.

The same content in PubMed can also be searched in Ovid MEDLINE .

Bracken Library Database Highlight: CINAHL

Date Coverage: 1946 – present
Artstor
Artstor is a rich, digital library of art image collections with descriptive information and related data, as well as software tools to enable active use of the collections, including: access remotely for up to 120 days (365 during COVID); save, organize and share images using Groups; download individual images or export entire Groups through the download to zip file or PowerPoint feature; add your own content to a Personal CollectionAccess: To use Artstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user".
See Artstor Support and Optimizing your Browser for Artstor for further information.