Human Rights Law

This book gives the reader unique insight into Canadian human rights law and its interplay with the country's international human rights commitments.

The author argues that whereas framing grievances as human rights violations has become an effective strategy, the increasing appropriation of rights-talk to frame any and all grievances undermines attempts to address systemic social problems. His argument is followed by commentator response from several leading human rights scholars and practitioners in Canada and abroad who bridge the divide between academia, public policy, and practice.

Also available in print at KE4395 .T37 1986 LAW (Reserve)
This text is comprehensive review of human rights issues and includes a legal history of discrimination in Canada, definitions, analysis of relevant case law, and insights into the enforcement and administration of human rights legislation.

This text provides a firm foundation for researchers to understand cultural and identity issues within the Canadian context. Through examining the concepts of diversity, human rights, and Indigenous issues, researchers will learn to responsibly manoeuvre through Canada’s evolving social landscape.

Also available in print at JC599.C2 C542 2016 LAW.
The author argues that the 1970s was a critical moment in human rights history--one that transformed political culture, social movements, law, and foreign policy. A central theme in this book is that human rights derive from society rather than abstract legal principles.

Also available in print at KE4381 .Z56 1996t LAW (Reserve).
Gain access to thorough coverage of human rights law and procedure in every Canadian jurisdiction.

This book explores legislative changes on mandatory human rights due diligence (mHRDD) along global supply chains, and how multinational corporations are governed in foreign jurisdictions may impact Canadian corporate law and related fields. The author examines new legislation in Norway and Germany, new international caselaw and the Supreme Court of Canada decision Nevsun Resources (2020) which imposed new obligations on Canadian corporations.

This text examines a combination of psychological, sociological, organizational, political, and community perspectives, resulting in a holistic, multi-faceted approach to understanding the phenomenon of racial profiling and to pre-empting or eradicating it.

This text provides readers a guide on how human rights are protected, promoted, and enforced in Ontario. Written by authors renowned for their experience in this area, it is essential for anyone responsible for ensuring that their organization complies with its human rights obligations. This includes employment, services, contracts, accommodation, and vocational associations.

Offering expert commentary and advice on the relevant legislation, jurisprudence, rules and guidelines, this text provides guidance for litigants before the tribunal – as well as those pursuing human rights claims – on the current best practices in this area of the law, and acts as a one-stop resource for answers to the most common questions and suggestions for avoiding possible pitfalls.

This book is a guide to the process of litigating before the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario, Practice & Procedure Before the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario will serve as a guide to the process of litigating before the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario (the Tribunal), from the initial application through the judicial review. The emphasis will be on providing practical assistance and guidance, with reference to the most recent jurisprudence in this area.

Comprising over 340 entries, presented alphabetically, the Encyclopedia addresses the full range of themes associated with the study and practice of human rights in the modern world. The topics range from substantive human rights to the relevant institutions, legal documents, conceptual and procedural issues of international law and a wide variety of thematic entries.

This four-volume encyclopedia set offers coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.