Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Visual Arts

Online Video for K-12 Classrooms

Annenberg Video
Art Through Time: A Global View: take a trip across the world and back through the ages to experience the art of many cultures and historical periods. Thirteen themes encompass hundreds of paintings, drawings, sculptures, photos, and works in non-traditional media in this vibrant approach to the study and appreciation of art. Includes sortable images of 250 works with topics in greater depth.
The Art of Teaching the Arts: A Workshop for High School Teachers: Discover how the principles of good teaching are implemented in the visual and performing arts.

Films on Demand
Queen's University Library subscribes to this collection of videos that includes both professional learning for teaching practices as well as videos on all high school subjects. You just need your Queen's netID and password to access this source of over 8200 full length titles. You can also make your own personal account to create playlists for your lessons.

NFB
The Campus edition of NFB includes over 3600 titles, as well as education playlists and other teacher resources. Teacher account holders can access the personal playlist and chapter creation features.
Create a teacher account here.

On-Core
On-Core is an online video collection that has been carefully curated for K-12 according to the Ontario curriculum.

Curio
Educational programming from CBC. Includes CBC's News in Review - in-depth coverage of 4 current news stories, chosen to connect to topics likely to be covered in the Canadian high school curriculum. Includes teacher guides and lesson plans.
Create a teacher account here.

Learning Through The Arts Video Series

Arts Viewers Guide: PDF Includes Visual Arts and Media Arts

DRAWING TO MUSIC Grades 7-8 Length 12:33 Students experiment with drawing to different types of music. Students express their feelings and emotions through an abstract drawing.

EXPLORATION OF MEDIUMS Grades 7-8 Length 13:06 Students explore traditional artwork and examine how First Nations’ culture can be intertwined with artistic exploration and creation. Students examine existing artworks of First Nations’ artists in Canada to study elements and principles of design, including line, colour, proportion, and texture before applying to their artwork. Community leaders are invited into the classroom to share their cultural perspective. Students follow the Creative Process in completing an array of projects that represent the Seven Teachings and cultural symbolism.

CREATING AN INSTALLATION Grade 8 Length 15:51 Students create an installation art piece based on their field trip to Toronto. Students from a rural community create an installation inspired by a recent field trip to an urban centre. They represent their feelings and emotions in three dimensional artwork by applying the Creative Process and using the elements and principles of design. Brainstorming techniques are used to generate ideas for various components. The teacher provides examples of installation artwork as a model for the student project. Students access prior knowledge of visual art techniques to include in this collaborative artwork. The student artists and peer assessors use appropriate vocabulary in the reflection period. Learning Through The Arts Video Series 21 Secondary

MASKS AND MYTHS Grade 9 Length 12:37 Students write and perform original myths. Students create a myth and develop characters based on the theme of a new or emerging technology. Using the elements and principles of visual arts, they design and produce a mask to represent a character they conceptualize. Using the elements and conventions of drama, they perform a scene of the story they have scripted. The teacher provides accommodations for students who are not comfortable presenting to a live audience by allowing them to record a video of their scene.

ENGAGING BOYS IN THE ARTS Grade 9 Length 16:59 Students become re-engaged in school through participating in a student-driven visual arts program. Boys who are at risk apply the Creative Process in producing artworks, using various media that reflect their own interests and needs. They explore and experiment with materials found in the environment outside of the classroom to produce an installation that conveys a message or theme. They extend this experience by applying the Critical Analysis Process to discussions based on social justice issues. They use guerrilla art as a way to challenge their audience to pause and ponder the personal messages they have represented.

Creating a Digital Identity Grade 10 Length 10:34 Students use technology to create art. This segment features students exploring elements and principles of design, using technology. The theme of a digital nomad is developed so that students can create a cyber-identity that parallels their real identity. Using graffiti, they embed their “signature” or “tag” within a piece of artwork representing their personal thoughts and feelings. The teacher promotes independent learning once the students have achieved competency with the technology they are using in the Creative Process. Learning Through The Arts Video Series 22 WOODLAND

 Woodland Style Artwork Grades 10-11 Length 17:15 Students use traditional techniques to create artwork. This segment represents the cultural traditions and artistic principles of design from woodland style art in a classroom of Aboriginal students. Elders are invited to share their stories and perspectives on traditional First Nation arts and crafts. Students apply the elements and principles of visual arts to their personal artworks using various First Nation artforms and techniques. Story telling serves as the inspiration for individual student creations and, in turn, they relay the story of their artwork based on this inspiration and the personal message they wish to convey.

SKATEBOARDS: AN INTEGRATED UNIT Grades 11-12 Length 13:10 Students use skateboards as a focus for their learning. This segment demonstrates how engaging in visual arts can motivate students to stay in school. Students apply the elements and principles of design in manufacturing a skateboard. They discuss the relevance of their experiences in art and how they are connected to the community and real-life situations. Students’ experiences in producing artworks are linked to other curriculum subjects such as English (skateboarding magazine publications) and business studies.

Linked In Learning

DVDs in the Library

ART in the 21st Century (Art 21)
A nonprofit dedicated to engaging audiences with contemporary visual art, inspiring creating thinking, and educating a new generation about artists working today. Each episode has a downloadable teaching guide.
Art 21 : art in the twenty-first century: N6512.7 .A78
The library has seasons 1 to 6, season 5 is also available online.

Museum Masterpieces
N2030.A6 M87 2006 DVD
Lectures:
1. Palace to Museum, the story of the Louvre
2. Leonardo and the origins of the collections
3. Italian Renaissance and the Baroque painting
4. Spanish school of painting
5. Rubens and Flemish painting, early German
6. Rembrandt, Vermeer, and Dutch painting
7. De La Tour, Le Nain, and 17th century painting
8. Claude and Poussin, French painter in Rome
9. Watteau and Chardin
10. Boucher, Fragonard, and the Rococo in France
11. Jacques-Louis David and his school
12. Delacrois and Ingres, the great dialectic