Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Visual Arts

Databases

Access to these databases is provided using your Queen's NetID.

Oxford Art Online
Includes over 200 000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19 000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.

Art Abstracts
Publication Coverage: 1984 to present.
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines. Emphasis is on Western art.

Art Index Retrospective
Publication Coverage: 1929 to 1984. 
Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985.

Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture
Includes over 2030 scholarly articles on Medieval art and architecture.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
Publication Coverage: the most current editions of books are included.
A selection of art and architecture dictionaries, companions, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Publication Coverage: 1974 to present.
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Artstor
An extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use.

Open Access Databases

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Publication Coverage: 1973 to 2007
Covers European and American visual arts material from over 1200 journals.

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
Comprehensive coverage of literature related to the preservation and conservation of cultural heritage.