Intermediate Senior Drama

Learning about Social Issues Through Scripts for Learners Aged 11-16 by John Rainer; Kirsty Walters Learning about Social Issues through Scripts for Learners aged 11-16 offers secondary drama teachers a new and exciting approach to exploring social issues with their students. Focusing on the issues that matter to young people, it includes a wide range of classroom and performance materials carefully tailored for differing abilities and ages. The book is based around four original play scripts exploring themes of antisocial behaviour, eating disorders, the effects of war on families and riots ¿ that have been tried, tested and proven to motivate and engage young people. As well as building performance skills, each script is accompanied by detailed schemes of work to help students explore what the issues mean to them and develop their problem solving and thinking skills. The book also includes cross references to pedagogical techniques and approaches, assessment for learning and ¿learning to learn¿. Written by an experienced author team, Learning about Social Issues through Scripts for Learners aged 11-16 provides a ¿one-stop shop¿ for teachers to explore relevant and stimulating themes and topics that will engage students in lively debate, promote empathy and produce creative dramatic responses.

Stage It by Christine J. Harvey The plays in this book have all been performed by young people and have proven entertaining, versatile and easily producibile in many different venues. Teachers, young actors and audiences find these scripts appealing because they feature interesting characters, engaging plots, imaginative staging concepts and witty dialogue. The first play, A Look All Her Own, is a heartwarming, modern Cinderella story about a girl who dares to be different. This play is perfect for large casts consisting of various age groups. The Legend of the Lost and Found Box is a unique and imaginative play about four students who confront a notoriously dangerous lost and found box in order to rescue one of the student's most precious possessions. This play has minimal props and costumes and basic blocking requirements, making it extremely easy to stage. The next play featured in this book is called A Fairytale Medley. This fun script is designed for a small and enthusiastic cast. It integrates different fairytales into an interesting collage of scenes including tableaus, storytelling, recognizable references to modern media and audience participation. The final script included in this collection is a monologue entitled The Phone Call. In this piece, Leah reveals her frustration and insecurities as she vents her anxieties after a phone argument with her love interest, Keith. Get your copy of these beautifully illustrated plays today. Read reviews! This review is from the "Voice Magazine" page 31 of vol.7 no.2 winter 2005 edition. Reviewed by Maureen Doeler, a Grade 6 teacher in Simcoe County.

Come out to play; an anthology of short plays by Renshaw, Reginald Henry Edmond

Fun French plays for secondary students by Wendy Maxwell For teenagers, grades 7 to 10

Invitation to drama; eight short plays for secondary schools. by Orr, Andrew A.

Tough Case by David S. Craig A contemporary play about one teen's journey through the restorative justice system, a mother fighting for her son, the scared and angry victims of a senseless crime, and the mediator who helps them all come together.

Dramathemes by Larry Swartz In the fourth edition of this classic, Larry Swartz digs into the riches of the past three editions and considers the experiences of language arts teachers who have used all versions of the book for almost three decades. Simple, engaging strategies for exploring literacy in new and innovative ways show how to weave picture books, novels, poetry, scripts, photographs, and other interactive strategies into effective literacy  instruction. Full of engaging new ideas, the book includes many new sources and carefully chosen strategies for exploring issues such as identity, poverty, diversity, bullying, and immigration.

Creative Activities for the Secondary Classroom by Mark Labrow Focusing on creativity, confidence, motivation and other core, workplace skills, Mark Labrow provides a wealth of ideas to help teachers bring creativity to their classroom. The activities in this resource will help students excel at teamwork, negotiation, have an awareness of themselves and others, and more.

Teaching Classroom Drama and Theatre by John Rainer; Martin Lewis In this volume, the authors present a new model of how teachers can draw together the various methodologies of process drama and traditional theatre teaching.

The Drama Teacher's Survival Guide 2 by Margaret F. Johnson A handbook of detailed step-by-step information, examples, and suggestions for directing a school theatre program.

Secondary Stages by Jeff Bennett; D. B. Sweeney (Foreword by) Secondary Stagescombines in one volume everything a high school teacher needs to organize and implement a sucessful, dynamic theatre program. Bennett's approach is based on a simple premise: that exposure to theatre can be an utterly transforming experience for students - one that enables them to reach unimagined levels of personal, emotional, and intellectual growth. His book delivers hands-on techniques to make it all happen, illustrating how to: draw interested students into the program inspire students to act with truth and conviction establish the connection between good improvisation and good scene work carry passion for theatre outside the classroom and into the mainstream of school life choose material that's stimulating enough to attract a sizable student audience without creating unwanted controversy structure activities and lessons so that they encourage maximum sensitivity and awareness lay the basis for mounting memorable productions. With these goals in mind and with more than three decades of experience, Bennett presents strategies that have consistently proven effective for the broadest possible range of students.

How to Teach a Play: Essential Exercises for Popular Plays by Miriam M. Chirico and Kelly Younger "Featuring more than 80 exercises, How to Teach a Play provides teaching strategies for the most commonly taught plays, ranging from classical through contemporary drama. Developed by contributors from a range of disciplines, these exercises reveal the variety of practitioners that make up the theatrical arts; they are written by playwrights, theater directors, and artistic directors, as well as by dramaturgs and drama scholars. In bringing together so many different perspectives, this book highlights the distinctive qualities that makes theater such a dynamic genre." publisher

The Art of Drama Teaching by Mike Fleming "This classic edition of Mike Fleming's The Art of Drama Teaching provides a multitude of practical ideas for teachers of drama and for those who are interested in using drama to teach other subjects. It takes the form of detailed discussion of twenty-five drama techniques including but not limited to: beginnings and endings monologue and narration off-stage action and reported action mime irony time shifts minor characters Each technique, topic or convention is illustrated by a carefully chosen extract from a play and accompanied by a commentary and practical examples of lesson tasks." publisher

Inspired Drama Teaching by Keith West Inspired Drama Teaching is packed full of practical ideas to inspire your students and colleagues. This book offers tips and ideas on everything a teacher of secondary drama needs to cover, including: * Explorative strategies, such as role play and forum-theatre * Activities for making use of stimuli, such as scripts and music * Ideas for incorporating the elements of drama, such as rhythm and characterisation * Approaching drama as a medium, through the use of mime and make-up. This book includes a chapter on getting the students to work collaboratively, and one on making use of ICT within drama on the companion website. There is also a chapter dedicated to embodying drama and dramatic techniques across the curriculum, so you can get your colleagues excited about drama as well. There's a handy exam specification matrix online too. Inspired Drama Teaching isn't only for teachers just beginning their careers on the school stage; even experienced drama and English teachers will find plenty of new ideas and activities.