Due to the recency of the grade 9 curriculum change, textbooks written for the new curriculum are not available yet. The books listed below were written for the old academic and applied model, but will still have some relevancy to the new curriculum.
McGraw-Hill Ryerson foundations of mathematics 9 by
Student text approved for use in Ontario schools, September 5, 2013, Foundations of Mathematics, Grade 9, Applied (MFM1P), supporting the curriculum guidelines: The Ontario Curriculum, Grades 9 and 10: Mathematics, 2005 (revised).
McGraw-Hill Ryerson Principles of Mathematics 9 by
Written for the old grade 9 academic math class, for the 2005 Ontario math curriculum.
McGraw-Hill Ryerson Principles of Mathematics 9: Teacher's Resource by
The teacher's guide for McGraw-Hill Ryerson Principles of Mathematics 9.
Nelson Principles of Mathematics 9 by
Written for the old academic grade 9 math class, for the 2005 Ontario math curriculum.
Nelson Principles of Mathematics 9: Teacher's Resource by
Teacher resource for Nelson Principles of Mathematics 9.
Nelson Principles of Mathematics 9: Solutions Manual by
Solutions manual for Nelson Principles of Mathematics 9.
Using Formative Assessment to Differentiate Mathematics Instruction, Grades 4-10 by
"This practical and thought-provoking book offers time-saving strategies essential for every teacher in every discipline. The numerous self-assessments demonstrate that the best formative assessments are not merely given "to" students but are an interactive learning experience involving students, teachers, and professional colleagues." --Douglas B. Reeves, Founder The Leadership and Learning Center "This book provides a wealth of information for teachers and mathematics leaders to consider when implementing intervention models, RTI programs, and differentiated instruction for low achievers through high achievers." --Don S. Balka, Professor Emeritus St. Mary's College, Notre Dame, IN "Many of the seemingly abstruse or vague concepts--such as differentiated instruction--come alive in the numerous vignettes. Included are many examples of ways to quickly assess relevant student background knowledge before teaching a new topic and how to use this information for tiered instruction following an RTI (Response to Intervention) model." --From the foreword by Russel Gersten Director, Instructional Research Group & Professor Emeritus, University of Oregon Seven easy steps to differentiating math instruction for busy teachers Are you able to support your struggling students while also challenging your high achievers? Abundant research supports the value of differentiating instruction to students' individual levels, but putting it into practice can be daunting. Staff development expert and former math teacher Leslie Laud provides a clear roadmap for using formative assessment to differentiate mathematics instruction for students in Grades 4-10. She provides a comprehensive framework of seven research-based practices that show how to: Get started and establish norms Implement formative assessment Create tiered lessons Manage a multitasking classroom effectively Tested and enhanced by experienced math teachers, the book's strategies are designed for use in conjunction with any curriculum or textbook. Included are a wealth of practical examples, reproducibles, and student activities--all developed with effective time management in mind. Whether you are just starting or interested in enhancing your mathematics instruction, this book will prove an invaluable resource.
Daily Planning for Today's Classroom by
This book has practical lesson and activity plans for pre-service and in-service teachers. Its practical materials integrate all the theories students have already learned through their other coursework and pulls it together in a way that is useful in the classroom setting. This book equips the student with materials, organization, and plans to walk into a classroom prepared.
Instructional Strategies for Middle and High School by
Instructional Strategies for Middle and High School is an accessible, practical, and engaging methods textbook that introduces pre-service teachers to various instructional strategies and helps them to decide how and when to use these methods in the classroom. Classrooms are comprised of diverse learners, and aspiring teachers will face complex decisions about the assessment of student learning and classroom management. Veteran teacher educators Bruce Larson and Timothy Keiper offer practical suggestions for ways to integrate effective classroom management and valid assessment techniques with each instructional strategy. Instructional Strategies for Middle and High School equips pre-service teachers with the methodological tools to promote understanding, conceptual awareness, and learning for every child in the classroom. Features and updates to this new edition include: Clear, step-by-step descriptions and illustrative in-class videos of seven instructional techniques and that pre-service teachers can realistically implement within the classroom setting Increased coverage on teaching English language learners, including a "Making Your Lesson More Meaningful for ELLs" feature now included in every instructional strategy chapter "Enhancing Your Teaching With Technology" feature included in every instructional strategy chapter Fresh interior design to better highlight pedagogical elements and key features, all to better engage students Fully revamped and comprehensive companion website, with both student and instructor materials that stress real-world application of strategies, classroom assessment and management.
Access and Equity: Promoting High-Quality Mathematics in Grades 9-12 by
"Examines issues related to access, equity, and the empowerment faced by students as they prepare for college, technical schools, or joining the workforce. Its chapters are organized across three main themes: (1) engaging students in equity-based classroom projects, (2) developing students' positive mathematical identities, (3) encouraging teachers to reflect on their own equitable needs and practices. Each chapter is designed to show the power of building on students' interests, communities, and strengths to engage them with rigorous mathematics content. This book will help teachers provide each and every student with the challenging mathematics education they need for future success." - back cover
Key Ideas in Teaching Mathematics by
Big ideas in the mathematics curriculum for older school students, especially those that are hard to learn and hard to teach, are covered in this book. It will be a first port of call for research about teaching big ideas for students from 9-19 and also has implications for a wider range ofstudents. These are the ideas that really matter, that students get stuck on, and that can be obstacles to future learning. It shows how students learn, why they sometimes get things wrong, and the strengths and pitfalls of various teaching approaches. Contemporary high-profile topics like modellingare included.The authors are experienced teachers, researchers and mathematics educators, and many teachers and researchers have been involved in the thinking behind this book, funded by the Nuffield Foundation. An associated website, hosted by the Nuffield Foundation, summarises the key messages in the book andconnects them to examples of classroom tasks that address important learning issues about particular mathematical ideas.
Teaching Mathematics for Social Justice by
Educators increasingly recognise the important role that mathematics teaching plays in helping students to understand and overcome social injustice and inequality. This collection of original articles is the start of a compelling conversation among some of the leading figures in critical and social justice mathematics, a number of teachers and educators who have been inspired by them and who have inspiring stories of their own to tell--and any reader interested in the intersection of education and social justice. An important read for every educator, this book shows how to teach mathematics so that all students are given the tools they need to confront issues of social justice today and in the future. Included in The Top 75 New York Times Best-Selling Education Books of 2013.
Styles and Strategies for Teaching High School Mathematics by
One key to raising achievement in mathematics is to recognize that all students have preferred styles of thinking and learning. By rotating teaching strategies, you can reach learners through their preferred styles, as well as challenge students to think in other styles. Styles and Strategies for Teaching High School Mathematics provides a set of powerful, research-based strategies to help high school teachers differentiate mathematics instruction and assessment according to their students′ learning styles. Presenting four distinct mathematical learning styles--Mastery, Understanding, Self-Expressive, and Interpersonal--this book offers classroom-tested instructional strategies that can be mixed and matched to reach all learners. Compatible with any curriculum or textbook, the book: - Explains how the strategies address NCTM process standards and students′ learning styles - Includes step-by-step directions, examples, and planning considerations for each strategy - Provides reproducible forms for implementing the strategies - Offers variations and ways to adapt each strategy to meet a variety of instructional demands With assessment components woven throughout, this invaluable guide helps high school mathematics teachers effectively reach and teach today′s adolescents.
100+ Ideas for Teaching Mathematics by
All Mike's ideas have been tried and tested at the chalkface. This second edition will be at least 20% bigger and will contain ideas which range from simple addition to using and applying trigonometry, from naming 2D shapes to exploring the intrigues of 3D solids.
Making Sense of Math by
In Making Sense of Math, Cathy L. Seeley, former president of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, shares her insight into how to turn your students into flexible mathematical thinkers and problem solvers. This practical volume concentrates on the following areas: * Making sense of math by fostering habits of mind that help students analyze, understand, and adapt to problems when they encounter them. * Addressing the mathematical building blocks necessary to include in effective math instruction. * Turning teaching "upside down" by shifting how we teach, focusing on discussion and analysis as much as we focus on correct answers. * Garnering support for the changes you want to make from colleagues and administrators. Learn how to make math meaningful for your students and prepare them for a lifetime of mathematical fluency and problem solving.
Building a Math-Positive Culture by
Cathy L. Seeley, former president of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, turns the spotlight on administrative leaders who are seeking to improve their math programs, offering an overview of what an effective program looks like and examples of actions to take to achieve that goal. Building a Math-Positive Culture addresses the following topics: * The three components necessary for a successful math program. * How to recognize, support, and evaluate effective teachers. * Steps to take to move from grand ideas to concrete results. * How to approach obstacles to achieving your goal. Along with the companion book for teachers Making Sense of Math, this book is an essential tool for leaders facing the critical task of revising their math program to develop flexible mathematical thinkers able to meet the demands of the 21st century.
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics offers many Classroom Resources for 7-12 lessons and interactives.