How to analyze a journal citation
Castro, Donald S. 1986. “Popular culture as a source for the historians: the tango in its Epoca de oro, 1917-1943.” Journal of popular culture 20(3): 45-71
The citation refers to an article in a journal.
Tip: Search Omni by Journal Search (top bar) or by Title in Advanced Search to see if Queen's Library subscribes in print or electronic format to the journal of popular culture. Omit initial articles (the, an, a), if any. Ignore punctuation and case.
Below are some key ethnomusicology journals. Many good articles will also be found in other interdisciplinary journals.
Check Omni under Journal Search to see if the journal is in print or electronic format at Queen's:
British journal of ethnomusicology
Bulletin of the International Council for Traditional Music
Canadian journal for traditional music (formerly: Canadian folk music journal)
Ethnomusicology*
Folk music journal
Latin American music review
MUSICultures (formerly: Canadian journal for traditional music)
Journal of popular music studies
The World of music*
Yearbook for traditional music*
Find citations or full-text of journal articles or book chapters on your topic in an article index or subject-related database such as RILM or Music Index Online.
Nota bene: Once you have found a useful citation, then search Omni for the source journal or book title which contains the article you need: i.e the title of the whole book or the whole journal in which the article can be found.
Some databases will provide the full text of articles, or contain links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.
If you can't find the article you need at Queen's either in print or electronically, you can request it from another library through Omni.
Major Music Article Databases (more music databases below Interdisciplinary and Crossdisiplinary Databases)
Access from off-campus to electronic databases or electronic journals provided for the Queen's community requires use of the web proxy
Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports. Approximately 50% of journal titles contain full-text articles)
America: History and Life 
(covers also Indigenous populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico)
ATLA Religion Database (topics include world religions, and religious perspectives on social issues)
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (covers Indigenous North American culture, history, and life)
Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including music)
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (selective articles with full-text)
JSTOR (electronic journal archive providing access to entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).
Oxford Reference Online - Music (Music collection component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)
Oxford Reference Online – Society and Culture (Society and Culture component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)
Political Studies @ ProQuest (searches 4 political studies databases, including IBSS, PAIS, Worldwide Political Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science)
Sociology @ ProQuest (searches 3 sociology databases simultaneously, including Sociological Abstracts, IBSS and ProQuest Sociology)
Journal articles are important as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.
Consult our guide Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals, to help evaluate and decide which journal articles will be useful for your essay.
World Music Central