Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

MUSC 289: World Musics

North America

American folklore : an encyclopedia. Online and Ref. GR101 .A54 1996. North American folklore (American and Canadian), excluding the folklore of Native Americans.
 

American Musical Traditions. Music Ref. ML3551 .A53 2002 5 vols. Published with the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, covers Native American, African American, British Isles, European American, Latin American and Asian American musical traditions and influences.

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t The most authoritative first point of reference for researching the music of Canada.
See specific topics such as "marius barbeau" or the chapter on Ethnomusicology in general. 
 

Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America / Elaine Keillor, Tim Archambault, and John M.H. Kelly.  Music Ref. ML102.N37 K45 2013. Documents musical practices among North America's First Peoples, both historically and in the modern context.

Essential Reference

Reference Tools

Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world. 11 vols..Ref. ML102 .P66 C66 11 vols. v. 1. Media, industry and society. v. 2. Performance and production. v. 3. Caribbean and Latin America. v. 4. North America. v. 5. Asia and Oceania. v. 6. Africa and the Middle East. v. 7. Europe. v. 8. Genres : North America. v. 9. Genres : Caribbean and Latin America. v. 10. Middle East and North Africa -- v. 11. Genres: Europe.

Encyclopedia of African American music.  Ref. ML101 .U6 E53 2011 3 vols. Showcases all facets of African American music, including folk, religious, concert, and popular styles, and its role in American cultural history..

Encyclopedia of Popular Music. popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, available through Oxford Music Online.  

Web access to 2004 edition of Ethnomusicology : a guide to research.  Updated print 2nd ed. of Ethnomusicology : a research and information guide. ML128.E8 P67 2011 ref.  Introduces print and web-based sources and research resources published primarily in the last decade. Sources organized by topic and geographic region.

The Harvard dictionary of music, 4th ed. ML100 .A64 2003. Coverage has greatly expanded to include non-Western and popular music and musical instruments of all cultures.

The rough guide to world music. Ref. ML102 .W67 W67 2006-2009, 3rd ed. 2 v. (vol. 3 not yet published)

v. 1. Africa & Middle East. v. 2. Europe, Asia & the Pacific.

World Musics Textbook

This open access textbook on World Musics is a collaborative effort to create a free resource for the public, educators, students, and researchers. Its collections of scholarly, peer-reviewed writing and multimedia materials focus on underrepresented voices, writing styles, and audiences. Chapters are prepared by scholars, musicians, and others and they go through a blind peer review process. They may be short essays, videos, interactive sites, or other formats Examples of specific chapters are:

  • Activism
  • Africa
  • Ethnomusicology
  • Global
  • Identity
  • Indigeniety
  • Latin America
  • Middle East
  • Musical Instruments
  • Nationalism
  • Native America
  • Race
  • South America
  • Southeast Asia 
  • Tradition

Specific Countries/Regions

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India.  Covers classical, folk, film, and other musical forms.

Latin music : musicians, genres and themes. ML101.L38 L37 2014 2 vols. Includes musical instruments, record cover art, festivals and celebrations, the institution of slavery, feminism, and patriotism. Covers the music, traditions, and history of more than two dozen countries, including Argentina.

The Encyclopaedia of music in Ireland. Ref. ML101.I73 E53 2013 2 vols. Irish musical experience across recorded history and document.
 
The Oxford Handbook of Music in China and the Chinese Diaspora