Research Guides: Patents and Designs: Statistics & Data

Patent Statistics and Data Sources

Canadian Patent Statistics (CIPO)
General patent statistics are published in the annual report of the Canadian Intellectual Property Organization.
IP5 Patent Office Statistical Reports
Patent statistical reports published by five major patent offices: China, Europe, Korea, Japan and the U.S.
IP Canada Reports, 2016-2020
A series of annual intellectual property (IP) reports presents "current statistics and trends on the use of the intellectual property system in Canada and the global IP system by Canadians."
Mexican IP Statistics
Report published by the Mexican Institute of Industrial Property containing IP statistics from the early 1990s to present.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
The National Science Foundation publishes reports and statistical data on U.S. science and engineering activity. The annual Science and Engineering Indicators includes patent statistics.
OECD Innovation Statistics
Statistical reports and studies of scientific and technical research, funding and patent output published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
PATSTAT Global
Produced by the EPO, PATSTAT Global is a tool for performing sophisticated statistical analyses of bibliographical and legal status patent data. It can be purchased or accessed via subscription.
Patstats.org
This database provides access to statistics on U.S. patent litigation decisions from 2000 to 2013. It was compiled by the University of Houston's Institute for Intellectual Property and Information Law.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Data
The USPTO makes bulk patent and trademark data available to the public.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Open Data Portal
A platform for accessing publicly available data, APIs, and data visualizations.
U.S. Patent Statistics (USPTO)
Calendar and fiscal year statistics compiled by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
WIPO IP Statistics
WIPO publishes statistical reports on worldwide IP activity and on the use of WIPO-administered treaties in the protection of IP rights internationally.

Patent Landscape Reports

A patent landscape is an analysis of patent data that reveals business, scientific and technological trends. Landscape reports typically focus on a single industry, technology or geographic region. Several patent offices, research organizations and private firms publish patent landscapes. Below are a few collections available on the web.

Local Patents
Dynamic map of the U.S. that displays clusters of patents based on the geographic location of the inventor or owner.
Patent Power 2014
Quantitative ranking of the patent portfolios of more than 6,000 companies, organizations, universities and government agencies published by 1790 Analytics and IEEE Spectrum magazine.
Technology Landscapes
Collection of patent landscapes published by Cambia, a private non-profit research organization focusing on open science, biology and intellectual property information.
UKIPO Patent Landscape Reports
Collection of patent landscape reports on graphene, nanotechnology, regenerative medicine, recycling technologies, etc... published by the UK Intellectual Property Office.
WIPO Patent Landscape Report Library
Collection of patent landscape reports produced by international organizations, national intellectual property offices, non-governmental organizations and private firms.
WIPO Statistical Country Profiles
National statistics on patents, utility models, trademarks and industrial designs and economic performance (GDP, etc.).

Patents and Designs

Recommended Books

Patent Statistics and Data Sources

Patent Landscape Reports