Pediatrics

The most practical, up-to-date, well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of the medical problems of children - from birth to adolescence   #65533;        Organized by general topics and by organ systems #65533;        Provides concise, evidence-based information on the wide range of pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily clinical practice #65533;        Includes detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures #65533;        Delivers succinct, authoritative overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders, substance abuse, psychiatric disorders, child abuse, oral medicine and dentistry, and emergencies and injuries #65533;        Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest research findings and practice updates, most notably chapters devoted to immunizations, endocrinology, neurologic and muscular disorders, critical care, and HIV #65533;        Complemented by a wealth of tables and figures that provide quick access to important information, such as acute and critical care procedures, anti-infective agents, drug dosages, immunization schedules, differential diagnosis, and developmental disorders #65533;        Complete with valuable guide to normal laboratory values   LANGE Emphasizes the clinical aspects of pediatric care while also covering important underlying principles Presented in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT style: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis Essential for pediatricians, family practitioners, residents, physician assistants, nurses and nurse practitioners, and other health care providers who work with infants, children, and adolescents Written by experienced pediatricians - this edition includes 19 NEW AUTHORS  

Winner of the 2012 British Medical Association book awards' first prize in the paediatrics category! This is the fourth edition of a highly popular 'must have textbook for paediatrics for medical students'. The previous edition has been translated into eight languages and also won British Medical Association and Royal Society of Medicine prizes for the best paediatrics textbook. New section on child protection New section on global paediatrics Over fifty new images Thoroughly revised and updated throughout

Overcome the latest clinical challenges in the emergency care of pediatric patients!   Fleisher & Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine has long been acknowledged as the indispensible comprehensive clinical reference on diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children. Now, a new editorial team and an all-star collection of contributing authorities have meticulously updated this essential work, bringing you all of the most recent approaches to virtually any pediatric emergency you are likely to encounter in practice. A multitude of new chapters and comprehensive updates put the latest know-how at your fingertips, helping you to optimally manage young patients. A reorganized, streamlined table of contents and refined chapter template for medical emergencies, trauma, surgical emergencies, and behavioral health emergencies approaches pediatric emergencies the way you engage with them in practice. New clinical pathways section provide key steps for managing critical patients New related chapters feature in most chapters enables you to easily cross-reference content across chapters. New colorful design Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Online-only content includes e-figures, e-tables and additional resources See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!

After more than 75 years, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Embracing the new advances in science as well as the time-honored art of pediatric practice, this classic reference provides the essential information that practitioners and other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth may face. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive revisions throughout ensure that you have the most recent information on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric diseases based on the latest recommendations and methodologies.   "The coverage of such a wide range of subjects relating to child health makes this textbook still the gold standard and companion for all pediatricians across the world." Reviewed by Neel Kamal, Sept 2015   "All in all, this is an excellent and detailed paediatric review textbook which represents excellent value for money..truly a textbook for the global community" Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Sept 2015 Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based medicine and astute clinical experiences from leading international authors-many new to this edition. A NEW two-volume layout provides superior portability and exceptional ease of use. Gain a more complete perspective. Along with a broader emphasis on imaging and molecular diagnoses and updated references, the new edition includes an increased focus on international issues to ensure relevance in pediatrics practice throughout the world. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout 35 new chapters, including: Innovations in Addressing Child Health and Survival in Low Income Settings; Developmental Domains and Theories of Cognition; The Reggio Emilia Educational Approach Catatonia ; Refeeding Syndrome; Altitude-associated Illness; Genetic Approaches to Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases; Healthcare-Associated Infections; Intrapartum and Peripartum Infections; Bath salts and other drugs of abuse; Small Fiber Polyneuropathy; Microbiome; Kingella kingae; Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalomyopathy; Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease; Plagiocephaly; CNS Vasculitis; Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture; and Sports-Related Traumatic Brain Injury. Recognize, diagnose, and manage genetic and acquired conditions more effectively. A new Rehabilitation section with 10 new chapters, including: Evaluation of the Child for Rehabilitative Services; Severe Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury and Autonomic Crisis Management; Spasticity; Birth Brachial Plexus Palsy; Traumatic and Sports-Related Injuries; Meningomyeloce≤ Health and Wellness for Children with Disabilities. Manage the transition to adult healthcare for children with chronic diseases through discussions of the overall health needs of patients with congenital heart defects, diabetes, and cystic fibrosis. Understand the principles of therapy and which drugs and dosages to prescribe for every disease. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The Oxford Textbook of Paediatric Pain brings together an international team of experts to provide an authoritative and comprehensive textbook on all aspects of pain in infants, children and youth. Divided into nine sections, the textbook analyses pain as a multifactorial problem to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of this challenging subject. Evidence-based chapters look in depth at topics ranging from the long-term effects of the pain in children, to complementary therapy inpaediatric pain. Case examples and online materials including scales, worksheets, and videos are provided to aid learning and illustrate the application of knowledge.Written by clinicians, educators, trainees and researchers, who were hand selected by the Editors for their practical approach and expertise in specific subject areas, The Oxford Textbook of Paediatric Pain will become the standard reference text in the assessment and treatment of patients andfamilies in the field of paediatric pain.

The ONLY handbook on pediatric hospitalist medicine you need! Focusing specifically on caring for pediatric patients in the hospital setting, this unique handbook addresses more than 350 of the most commonly encountered inpatient pediatric medical conditions. Unlike similar handbooks on the subject, The Philadelphia Guide goes beyond diagnostic strategies to include complete treatment and management guidelines. The emphasis on the treatment of so many inpatient conditions makes the book valuable for practitioners of all levels - from attending physicians to physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, pediatric nurses, and health practitioners from all disciplines involved in the care of pediatric patients in the hospital setting. Designed for immediate access, the handbook features alphabetized clinical sections and consistent chapter subheadings to make the book especially useful at the point of care.        Features Practical diagnostic strategies Extensive differential diagnosis suggestions Up-to-date treatment and management guidelines Content designed both for easy browsing and pinpointing specific information Alphabetical organization within chapters for rapid access Structured format with consistent headings throughout Bulleted content for efficient and effective access to relevant information Tables listing pediatric dosages for emergency, airway, and rapid sequence intubation medications, as well as defibrillation and cardioversion protocols Practical appendices covering normal vital signs, neonatal codes, and PALS algorithms NEW 2-color design Samir S. Shah, MD, MSCE is Director, Division of Hospital Medicine, James M. Ewell Endowed Chair, and Attending Physician in Hospital Medicine & Infectious Diseases at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Lisa B. Zaoutis, MD is Director of the Pediatrics Residency Program at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; and Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. Marina Catallozzi, MD, MSCE is Assistant Professor of Population and Family Health and Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the Columbia University Medical Center, College of Physicians and Surgeons. Gary Frank, MD is Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta; and Adjunct Associate Professor of Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine.

Now thoroughly updated to include new advances in the field, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology, 7th Edition remains the gold standard text for the care and research of children with cancer. This authoritative reference is the single most comprehensive resource on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer as well as its diagnosis, multimodal treatment, as well as long-term management of young patients with cancer. Also addressed are a broad array of topics on the supportive and psychosocial aspects of care of children and families. Covering virtually every aspect of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, this 7th Edition provides expert guidance on state-of-the-art, multidisciplinary care for children and families. Stay up to date with the most recent advances in the field with the contributions by new and returning contributors, including the perspective from patients and parents in the chapter titled "The Other Side of the Bed." Chapters included on palliative care and education. Supportive care is covered broadly and specifically - in contexts such as emergencies, infectious disease, and nutrition. Benefit from completely new and updated information throughout.  The most updated and authoritative information is provided by the leading experts in the field. Gain a thorough understanding of every aspect of pediatric oncology, with comprehensive information regarding basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Collaborate more effectively with others on the cancer care team to enhance quality-of-life issues for patients and families. Understand the cooperative nature of pediatric oncology as a model for cancer research with information from cooperative clinical trial groups and consortia. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation A highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

Quickly identify pediatric disorders and begin appropriate treatment!  Visual Diagnosis and Treatment in Pediatrics, 3rd Edition, is conveniently organized by presenting symptom, providing you a highly practical way to approach your patients.  Differential diagnosis tables are presented with colorful clinical photographs for easy comparison.  User-friendly and concise, this lavishly illustrated, easy-to-digest resource is designed to improve your everyday approach to visual diagnosis, making identification more efficient and accurate. Features: New chapter on child physical abuse brings you up to date with what you need to know in this challenging area. New images and diagnoses keep you well-informed on the clinical scenarios you're likely to see in practice. Hundreds of colorful, high-quality clinical photographs simplifies identification for similarly-presenting conditions. Quick-reference tables present differential diagnoses in an easy-to-read format that makes reference fast and easy. Special section on visual diagnosis in the newborn and essential breastfeeding images. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual#65533; of Pediatrics, 2nd Edition, focuses on the essential information you need to know when caring for children in the hospital, ICU, emergency department, and subspecialty outpatient clinics.  This practical reference presents brief, logical approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of common inpatient pediatric problems, as well as evidence-based references where they are available.  Thoroughly updated throughout, the 2nd Edition provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, and medical students, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Key Features: Thoroughly revised chapters with up-to-date, clinically applicable content that is easy for providers at all levels. New chapters on Development Milestones, Child Maltreatment, and Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Coverage includes growth and nutrition, emergencies, poisonings, newborn medicine, critical care, surgery, adolescent medicine, child maltreatment, allergy and immunology, radiology, sedation, genetic diseases, and much more. Numerous tables, algorithms, and evidence-based references keep you up to date. Written by interns, residents, chief residents, subspecialty fellows, and faculty at St. Louis Children's Hospital and Washington University in St. Louis.   Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The Washington Manual#65533; is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer under license from Washington University.