Hats of Faith by Medeia Cohan; Sarah Walsh (Illustrator)Hats of Faith is a simple and striking introduction to the shared custom of religious head coverings. With bright images and a carefully researched interfaith text, this thoughtful book inspires understanding and celebrates our culturally diverse modern world.
Call Number: Online - 1 user access limit
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
The Proudest Blue by Ibtihaj Muhammad; Hatem Aly (Illustrator); S. K. Ali (As told to)THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school--and two sisters on one's first day of hijab--by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad. With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first day of school is going to be special. It's the start of a brand new year and, best of all, it's her older sister Asiya's first day of hijab--a hijab of beautiful blue fabric, like the ocean waving to the sky. But not everyone sees hijab as beautiful, and in the face of hurtful, confusing words, Faizah will find new ways to be strong. Paired with Hatem Aly's beautiful, whimsical art, Olympic medalist Ibtihaj Muhammad and Morris Award finalist S.K. Ali bring readers an uplifting, universal story of new experiences, the unbreakable bond between siblings, and of being proud of who you are.
Call Number: Children's Collection, Floor 1 BP 190.5.H44 M84 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Salam Alaikum by Harris J; Ward Jenkins (Illustrator)From "the Muslim Justin Bieber" (NPR) Harris J comes a picture book that celebrates spreading peace, love, and happiness throughout the world, using the lyrics of his international YouTube hit of the same name. Salam Alaikum means "Peace be upon you." It is the greeting that Muslims around the world use to say "hello" and "good-bye." International music sensation Harris J has taken that greeting and created a call to action. Spread peace on the earth... Treasure the love, let it surround us Always be kind, always remind one another Peace on the earth every day Using the lyrics to the hit song of the same name, and accompanied by heartwarming illustrations that depict the power of paying it forward, this sweet and charming picture book celebrates kindness and community.
The Case of the Missing Museum Archives by Steven Brezenoff; Lisa K. Weber (Illustrator)When the plans for the prototype of a failed flying machine go missing from the Air and Space Museum's archives, Amal's father, the assistant archivist, is blamed. No one suspects a crime has been committed - except Amal and her friends. With her father's job on the line, it's up to them to track down the missing plans and get to the bottom of the museum mystery.
The Grand Mosque of Paris by Karen Gray Ruelle; Deborah Durland DeSaix (Illustrator)When the Nazis occupied Paris, no Jew was safe from arrest and deportation. Few Parisians were willing to risk their own lives to help. Yet during that perilous time, many Jews found refuge in an unlikely place--the sprawling complex of the Grand Mosque of Paris. Not just a place of worship but a community center, this hive of activity was an ideal temporary hiding place for escaped prisoners of war and Jews of all ages, especially children. Beautifully illustrated and thoroughly researched (both authors speak French and conducted first-person interviews and research at archives and libraries), this hopeful, non-fiction book introduces children to a little-known part of history. Perfect for children studying World War II or those seeking a heart-warming, inspiring read that highlights extraordinary heroism across faiths. Includes a bibliography, a recommended list of books and films, and afterword from the authors that gives more details behind the story.
Call Number: Children's Collection, Floor 1 D 804.65 .R84 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Muslim Girls Rise by Saira Mir; Aaliya Jaleel (Illustrator)Little Leaders meets Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls in this gorgeous nonfiction picture book that introduces readers to nineteen powerhouse Muslim women who rose up and made their voices heard. Long ago, Muslim women rode into battle to defend their dreams. They opened doors to the world's oldest library. They ruled, started movements, and spread knowledge. Today, Muslim women continue to make history. Once upon a time, they were children with dreams, just like you. Discover the true stories of nineteen unstoppable Muslim women of the twenty-first century who have risen above challenges, doubts, and sometimes outright hostility to blaze trails in a wide range of fields. Whether it was the culinary arts, fashion, sports, government, science, entertainment, education, or activism, these women never took "no" for an answer or allowed themselves to be silenced. Instead, they worked to rise above and not only achieve their dreams, but become influential leaders. Through short, information-rich biographies and vibrant illustrations, Muslim Girls Rise introduces young readers to the diverse and important contributions Muslim women have made, and role models they may never have heard of before, but whose stories they will never forget.
Being Muslim by Haroon SiddiquiSince 9/11, the world has been confronted with the most volatile facets of Islam with little explanation of how or why these controversial elements developed. Written by one of North America's most honored journalists, Being Muslim presents an up-front and clear explanation of this complex and emotion-laden subject. Although the varying branches of Islam are analyzed and their history outlined, the real focus of the book is on the present. In speaking about and crossing political, cultural, and religious divisions, the author offers a unique perspective based on life in Canada, a country in which diverse groups of people have found a way to live in peace. Aimed at young adults, the book offers invaluable insight to readers of all ages, cultures, and religious traditions.
Call Number: Children's & YA Collection, Floor 1 BP 161.3.S53 2006 Rev. ed. on order
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
The Genius of Islam by Bryn BarnardThe Middle Ages were a period of tremendous cultural and scientific advancement in the Islamic Empire--ideas and inventions that shaped our world.nbsp; Did you know that: * The numbers you use every day (Arabic numerals!) are a Muslim invention? * The marching band you hear at football games has its roots in the Middle East? * You are drinking orange juice at breakfast today thanks to Islamic farming innovations? * The modern city's skyline was made possible by Islamic architecture? The Muslim world has often been a bridge between East and West, but many of Islam's crucial innovations are hidden within the folds of history. In this important book, Bryn Barnard uses short, engaging text and gorgeous full-color artwork to bring Islam's contributions gloriously to life.nbsp; Chockful of information and pictures, and eminently browsable, The Genius of Islam is the definitive guide to a fascinating topic.
Call Number: Children's Collection, Floor 1 BP 163 .B2684 2011